The major humanitarian crises of recent years are well known: the Shoah, the killing fields of Cambodia, the Rwandan genocide, the massacre in Bosnia, and the tsunami in Southeast Asia, as well as the bloody conflicts in South Sudan, Syria, and Afghanistan. Millions have been killed and many millions more have been driven from their homes; the number of refugees and internally displaced persons has reached record levels. Could these crises have been prevented? Why do they continue to happen? This book seeks to understand how humanity itself is in crisis, and what we can do about it. Hollenbach draws on the values that have shaped major humanitarian initiatives over the past century and a half, such as the commitments of the International Committee of the Red Cross, Oxfam, Doctors Without Borders, as well as the values of diverse religious traditions, including Catholicism, to examine the scope of our responsibilities and practical solutions to these global crises. He also explores the economic and political causes of these tragedies, and uncovers key moral issues for both policy-makers and for practitioners working in humanitarian agencies and faith communities.
"This down-to-earth book offers practical marketing solutions for reaching students, faculty, and administration in community college and university libraries, based on real-world examples of team-based communication and practice"-- Provided by publisher.
When the world turns away from the horrors of war, genocide, famine, and natural disasters, the stewards of humanity run toward the suffering. They stand as a thin line between life and death for thousands of people who will never know their stories. These stewards are neither heroes nor saints. They are ordinary people with ordinary struggles who rise to extraordinary challenges. They are beacons of light in the darkness of humanitarian crisis.With an unflinching view into some of the worst humanitarian crises of our lifetime, author Robert Macpherson, US Marine combat veteran turned aid worker, tells the stories of the men and women who have courageously confronted evil and injustice from Somalia to Bosnia, Rwanda, Iraq and Afghanistan.Throughout his narrative, Robert challenges us to consider our place in humanity and our own role as stewards.“I look for light, and on occasion, find it, but too often it is clouded by the skulls of Murambi....
NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • From the chef behind Momofuku and star of Netflix's Ugly Delicious—an intimate account of the making of a chef, the story of the modern restaurant world that he helped shape, and how he discovered that success can be much harder to understand than failure.ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR: NPR, Fortune, Parade, The New York Public Library, Garden & GunIn 2004, Momofuku Noodle Bar opened in a tiny, stark space in Manhattan's East Village. Its young chef-owner, David Chang, worked the line, serving ramen and pork buns to a mix of fellow restaurant cooks and confused diners whose idea of ramen was instant noodles in Styrofoam cups. It would have been impossible to know it at the time—and certainly Chang would have bet against himself—but he, who had failed at almost every endeavor in his life, was about to become one of the most influential chefs of his generation, driven by the question, “What if the underground could become the mainstream?” Chang grew up the youngest son of a deeply religious Korean American family in Virginia. Graduating college aimless and depressed, he fled the States for Japan, hoping to find some sense of belonging....
What are some of the most distinctive features of the crisis characterising the social sciences learning today? Can a crisis of this deep-rooted and extremely wide-ranging nature be delimitated to a few specific areas? Can the social sciences diverse dilemmas be reduced to the feature of crisis alone? This book argues that the social sciences are in a deep state of crisis
"Readers will be empowered to embrace the branch-creak crisis moments of life and make meaningful, productive connections with the Why Generation. This book will help awaken the incredible potential of young people everywhere and spur them to increased performance on all fronts, so they can make a bigger difference--which is exactly what they want."--From jacket.
Do you need to learn how to use Microsoft Teams? Are you questioning how to drive user adoption, govern content, and manage access for your Teams deployment? Either way, the second edition of this bestseller is your one-stop-shop to learning everything you need to know to find success with Microsoft Teams. Microsoft's popular chat-based collaboration software has many rich features that enable teams to be more efficient, and save valuable time and resources. However, as with all software, there is a learning curve and pitfalls that should be avoided. Begin by learning the core components and use cases for Teams. From there, the authors guide you through ideas to create governance and adoption plans that make sense for your organization or customer. Wrap up with an understanding of features and services in progress, and a roadmap to the future of the product. What You Will Learn Implement, use, and manage Microsoft Teams Understand how Teams drives productivity and engagement by combining the functionality of Microsoft 365 Groups, SharePoint, OneDrive, Outlook, and other services in one location Govern, explain, and use Teams in your organization Use Teams in a structured way to reduce users' time spent in meetings Know the pitfalls to avoid that may create challenges in your usage of Teams Become familiar with the functionality and components of Teams via walk-throughs, including opportunities for automating business processes in Teams See how educators and students can use Teams to improve remote learning Be aware of business productivity in a remote world with Microsoft Viva This book is for anyone who wants to learn Microsoft Teams. To get the most out of the book, a basic understanding of Office 365 and a subscription, including a Microsoft Teams license, is useful.
Proven best practices for success with every Azure networking service For cloud environments to operate and scale optimally, their networking services must be designed, deployed, and managed well. Now, there's a complete, best-practice guide to doing just that. Writing for everyone involved in delivering Azure workloads and services, leading cloud consultant Avinash Valiramani provides a deep dive and practical field advice for Azure Virtual Networks, Azure VPN Gateways, Azure Load Balancing, Azure Traffic Manager, Azure Firewall, Azure DNS, Azure Bastion, Azure Front Door and more. Whatever your role in delivering efficient, scalable networking services, this guide will help you make the most of your Azure investment. Leading Azure consultant Avinash Valiramani shows how to: Use Azure Virtual Networks to establish a backbone for hosting other Azure resources Provide HTTP/HTTPS load-balancing and routing for web servers and apps through Azure Application Gateway Connect on-premises and other public networks to Azure for secure communications using the Azure VPN Gateway service Provide secure load balancing to apps from internal and public networks using Azure Load Balancer services Integrate Azure Firewall to centrally protect Azure resources across multiple subscriptions Access globally scaled, fully-managed DNS services with 100% SLA from the closest Azure DNS servers.
Level up your skill set to the latest that Oracle Database can offer. This book introduces features that are not well known that can transform your development efforts. Youll discover built-in functionality that can save you massive amounts of time that otherwise would be spent reinventing the wheel. Youll find that what used to take a lot of programming some years ago can be done with less code in a more reliable way today. Anyone using Oracle Database without the knowledge in this book is leaving valuable functionalitythat their company has paid foron the table, and this book opens the door to that functionality so that you can deliver reliable and performant solutions faster and more easily than ever. Part I looks at features in SQL and PL/SQL that are underused and not well known. Youll learn about new join types, pattern matching across rows, Top N pagination (useful in reporting!), qualified expressions, and enhancements to iterators that reduce code complexity and make your logic easier to understand. Part II covers how and when to invoke PL/SQL from SQL while maintaining performance. You'll learn about SQL macro functions for creating reusable SQL fragments, polymorphic table functions with return types determined by incoming argument types, and constructing and parsing JSON documents for data interchange with other systems. Part III introduces a vast array of built-in functionality that Oracle provides that is just waiting to be used. Edition-based redefinition enables zero-downtime application and schema upgrades. Data redaction enables easier compliance with privacy laws and similar regulations by protecting sensitive data from those who have no need to see it. Virtual private databases provide the appearance of giving each user their own database, again helping to secure sensitive data. These features are just a taste of what the book provides. Soon youll be improving your skills and wondering why you ever worked so hard to solve problems that Oracle Database already solves for you. What You Will Learn Write more powerful code by incorporating underused features in SQL and PL/SQL Optimize your integration between SQL and PL/SQL for best performance Take advantage of enhanced set operators, lateral joins, row-based pattern matching, and other advanced features in SQL Make your code easier to understand through your use of newer PL/SQL features, such as qualified expressions and iterator enhancements Integrate with web services and external data sources directly from the database Create and parse JSON documents for easy data exchange and flexible schema design.
Intended for you to get the most from Sage, this practical, hands-on book uses lots of screenshots to help you navigate your way around the system and offers tips to help you customize the programs and reports contained in Sage. -- Edited summary from book.
"The only authorised Labs & Study Guide for the Cisco Networking Academy Switching, Routing, and Wireless Essentials v7.0 (SRWE) in the CCNA Routing and Switching curriculum. Each chapter of this book is divided into a Study Guide section followed by a Lab section. The Study Guide sections offer exercises that help you learn the concepts, configurations, and troubleshooting skills crucial to your success as a CCNA exam candidate." From vendor website.
"Learn eight principles to simplify your code and become a more effective (and successful) programmer. Most software developers waste thousands of hours working with overly complex code. The eight core principles in 'The Art of Clean Coding' will teach you how to write clear, maintainable code without compromising functionality. The book's guiding principle is simplicity: reduce and simplify, then reinvest energy in the important parts to save you countless hours and ease the often onerous task of code maintenance"-- Provided by publisher.
"The book is a detailed guide that will help developers and coders do more when using Desktop Environments for Linux. It talks about the basics in brief, and then moves on to more advanced and detailed exercises to help readers quickly gain the required knowledge"-- Provided by publisher.
From smart speakers to customer service chatbots, apps that understand text and speech are everywhere. Natural language processing, or NLP, is the key to this powerful form of human/computer interaction. And a new generation of tools and techniques make it easier than ever to get started with NLP! "Getting started with natural language processing" teaches you how to upgrade user-facing applications with text and speech-based features. From the accessible explanations and hands-on examples in this book you'll learn how to apply NLP to sentiment analysis, user profiling, and much more. As you go, each new project builds on what you've previously learned, introducing new concepts and skills. Handy diagrams and intuitive Python code samples make it easy to get started, even if you have no background in machine learning!
Uncover the secrets of SQL and start building better relational databases today!This fun and friendly guide will help you demystify database management systems so you can create more powerful databases and access information with ease. Updated for the latest SQL functionality, SQL For Dummies, 8th Edition covers the core SQL language and shows you how to use SQL to structure a DBMS, implement a database design, secure your data, and retrieve information when you need it. Includes new enhancements of SQL:2011, including temporal data functionality.
Microsoft 365 Modern Desktop Administrator Guide to Exam MD-100 by Byron Wright; Leon Plesniarski
"This book employs a mix-methods approach to examine and interpret the algorithmic news consumption phenomenon from several inter-related perspectives, including tailored communication, customization, gatekeeping, agenda-resisting, and news literacy. Potential implications for an empowered or rather, (information-) cocooned public are explored. The research aims to illuminate the renewed relationship between media and audience and the effects on users of algorithmic processes. The aim of this book is multifaceted: 1- to describe the phenomenon of AI-based news recommendation; 2- to explore the use experience of consuming recommended news; 3- to analyze the effects that algorithmic news consumption has on the audiences; 4- to raise awareness of the impact of algorithmic news consumption; 5- to inform the public, technocrats, and policy makers of the effects of algorithmic news consumption; 6- to guide debate on ethical decision-making and possible policy change. Through an empirical investigation process, this volume examines algorithmic news consumption from a user perspective and dissects the complex effects caused by such consumption. This book is suitable to be a primary text for undergraduate-level courses relating media literacy issues and graduate-level courses with a particular focus on audience analysis in the age of artificial intelligence. It can also serve as a supplemental text for a core course in media/communication studies, such as Introduction to Communication, Current Issues in Communication, Communication Theory, Communication Ethics, etc. Worldwide, these courses are offered in a typical journalism/communication/media program at a university"-- Provided by publisher.
Filled with hands-on exercises with accompanying videos, and with hundreds of practice questions including new performance-based types, CompTIA A+ Certification Study Guide covers what you need to know -- and shows you how to prepare -- for these challenging exams. Includes complete coverage of all official objectives for the exams, exam readiness checklists, two-minute drills for quick review at the end of each chapter, and simulated exam questions that match those found on the real exams.
The book's core argument is that an artificial intelligence that could equal or exceed human intelligence--sometimes called artificial general intelligence (AGI)--is for mathematical reasons impossible. It offers two specific reasons for this claim: Human intelligence is a capability of a complex dynamic system--the human brain and central nervous system. Systems of this sort cannot be modelled mathematically in a way that allows them to operate inside a computer. In supporting their claim, the authors, Jobst Landgrebe and Barry Smith, marshal evidence from mathematics, physics, computer science, philosophy, linguistics, and biology, setting up their book around three central questions: What are the essential marks of human intelligence? What is it that researchers try to do when they attempt to achieve "artificial intelligence" (AI)? And why, after more than 50 years, are our most common interactions with AI, for example with our bank's computers, still so unsatisfactory? Landgrebe and Smith show how a widespread fear about AI's potential to bring about radical changes in the nature of human beings and in the human social order is founded on an error. There is still, as they demonstrate in a final chapter, a great deal that AI can achieve which will benefit humanity. But these benefits will be achieved without the aid of systems that are more powerful than humans, which are as impossible as AI systems that are intrinsically "evil" or able to "will" a takeover of human society.
The gold standard in US GAAP resources—fully revised to reflect the latest pronouncements US GAAP undergoes constant revision and review, requiring accountants and other financial practitioners to keep a close eye on updates and changes. Wiley GAAP 2023 offers the most comprehensive coverage of all Financial Accounting Standards Board (FASB) Topics—including all the latest updates. Every chapter offers a discussion of relevant perspectives and issues, GAAP sources, practice-oriented examples, and clear definitions of terms, concepts, and rules. Every FASB Topic is clearly explained in a reader-friendly way and includes dynamic graphics to help the reader understand and retain the nuanced subject matter. Extensively updated to reflect all current US GAAP changes, this invaluable practice resource: Reviews all the latest changes to accounting principles Offers expert guidance on complex issues raised by specific pronouncements For ease of research, includes topic-specific chapters and comprehensive cross-references Illustrates how each standard applies to common, real-world scenarios Clarifies how to implement each standard with numerous practical examplesThe 2023 edition includes the latest revisions to standards on credit losses, leases, derivatives, and more, plus guidance on a new FASB Codification topic on government assistance. Non-compliance with GAAP is not an option for effective accounting and financial professionals. Wiley GAAP 2023 is your one-stop resource for staying current with constantly evolving guidelines and delivers the insight and guidance you need. BONUS: Online, downloadable Financial Statement Disclosure and Presentation Checklist, now including industry- specific disclosures!
"The book covers major perspectives building on the available literature in the CRM domain while attempting to bring out a focused approach in connecting "Theory to Practice" improvising the customer relationships for the organizations with the use of AI"-- Provided by publisher.
"Artificial intelligence is changing the world of work. How can HR professionals understand the variety of opportunities AI has created for the HR function and how best to implement these in their organization? This book provides the answers. From using natural language processing to ensure job adverts are free from bias and gendered language to implementing chatbots to enhance the employee experience, artificial intelligence can add value throughout the work of HR professionals. Artificial Intelligence for HR demonstrates how to leverage this potential and use AI to improve efficiency and develop a talented and productive workforce. Outlining the current technology landscape as well as the latest AI developments, this book ensures that HR professionals fully understand what AI is and what it means for HR in practice. Alongside coverage of employee engagement and recruitment, this second edition features new material on applications of AI for virtual work, reskilling and data integrity. Packed with practical advice, research and new and updated case studies from global organizations including Uber, IBM and Unilever, the second edition of Artificial Intelligence for HR will equip HR professionals with the knowledge they need to improve people operational efficiencies, and allow AI solutions to become enhancements for driving business success"-- Provided by publisher.
Workplace well-being expert Jennifer Moss helps leaders and individuals prevent burnout and create healthier, happier, and more productive workplaces.
In this important and timely book, workplace well-being expert Jennifer Moss helps leaders and individuals prevent burnout and create healthier, happier, and more productive workplaces. We tend to think of burnout as a problem we can solve with self-care: more yoga, better breathing techniques, and more resilience. But evidence is mounting that applying personal, Band-Aid solutions to an epic and rapidly evolving workplace phenomenon isn't enough--in fact, it's not even close. If we're going to solve this problem, organizations must take the lead in developing an antiburnout strategy that moves beyond apps, wellness programs, and perks. In this eye-opening, paradigm-shifting, and practical guide, Jennifer Moss lays bare the real causes of burnout and how organizations can stop the chronic stress cycle that an alarming number of workers suffer through. "The Burnout Epidemic" explains: What causes burnout--and what organizations can do to prevent it; Why traditional wellness initiatives fall short; How companies can build an antiburnout strategy based on prevention, not perks; How leaders can measure burnout in their own organizations; What leaders can do to develop a healthier culture that prioritizes resilience and curiosity. As the pandemic has shown, self-care is important, but it's not a cure-all for burnout. Employers need to do more. With fascinating research, new findings from the pandemic, and interviews with business leaders around the globe, "The Burnout Epidemic" offers readers insightful and actionable advice that will empower them to help themselves--and their employees--feel healthier and happier at work. -- Provided by publisher.
"The first to provide a professional legal overview of the American cannabis industry, The Cannabis Business provides actionable guidance on legal and business issues faced by cannabis companies today. A global, largely illicit market worth around $150 billion is slowly transitioning into a legal, regulated industry, but it is a challenging one, made even more difficult by the complexities and nuances of the law. Entrepreneurs, investors, some 300,000 employees, and most Americans who support legalization need a reliable guide to understand this new industry. This is that book, written by partners at one of America's top cannabis law firms that has been at the cutting edge of marijuana and hemp law and policy since the inception of the regulated cannabis industry. The book comprises three parts: an introduction to the national legal landscape and the federal legal risks associated with cannabis businesses; an overview of the many legal issues faced by cannabis companies; and an introduction to the nuts and bolts of getting a cannabis deal done. Professionals and upper-level students with an interest in cannabis business or policy, from lawyers and entrepreneurs and investors to farmers, will find this book a useful and empowering resource, written by those at the forefront of the industry"-- Provided by publisher.
Leadership is not about titles, status, and wielding power. A leader is anyone who takes responsibility for recognizing the potential in people and ideas, and has the courage to develop that potential. When we dare to lead, we don't pretend to have the right answers. We stay curious and ask the right questions. We don't see power as finite and hoard it. We know that power becomes infinite when we share it with others. We don't avoid difficult conversations and situations. We lean into vulnerability when it's necessary to do good work. But daring leadership in a culture defined by scarcity, fear, and uncertainty requires skill-building around traits that are deeply and uniquely human. The irony is that we're choosing not to invest in developing the hearts and minds of leaders at the exact same time as we're scrambling to figure out what we have to offer that machines and artificial intelligence can't do better and faster. What can we do better? Empathy, connection, and courage, to start. Brené Brown has spent the past two decades studying the emotions and experiences that give meaning to our lives, and the past seven years working with transformative leaders and teams spanning the globe. She found that leaders in organizations ranging from small entrepreneurial startups and family-owned businesses to nonprofits, civic organizations, and Fortune 50 companies all ask the same question: How do you cultivate braver, more daring leaders, and how do you embed the value of courage in your culture?
Two highly decorated Navy SEALs, now successful businessmen, demonstrate how to lead and win in business and in life with principles learned on the battlefield, in a revised edition that includes a new foreword, photo insert and Q-and-A section.
BDebunks the myths of the traditional rules of presentations/b In today's commodity-based marketplace it is harder than ever to differentiate even the most superlative services and products. The sales presentation provides the most powerful opportunity to do so. iMake It All About Them/i reveals the truth behind the traditional rules of presentations and offers sales professionals a new way forward. It explains why focusing on three key points trumps a presentation full of details, why plain English always wins over jargon, why the audience doesn't need to know how important you are but how important they are, and other effective tactics.ulliProvides quick and useful concepts and tools to help salespeople break through the "we have always done it this way" mentality that is so prevalent in corporate America/liliAuthor Nadine Keller is founding partner of Precision Sales Coaching & Training with more than twenty-five years of experience in sales and sales leadership coaching and consulting/li/ul This unique approach will allow you to deliver a winning presentation every time by making it all about your audience.
"Effective time management is essential at university. This handy guide gives you simple, practical and achievable advice on how to better utilize your time and successfully meet deadlines. Identify ways in which you mismanage your time; Effectively plan both group and individual tasks and assignments; Successfully balance academic and other life priorities." -- Back cover.
"The quickest way to learn everything there is to know about QuickBooks. QuickBooks is the leading small business accounting software, designed to help you handle your financial and business tasks more effectively. QuickBooks 2023 All-in-One For Dummies answers all your QuickBooks questions, with 8 content-rich mini books in one complete package. You can get the most out of the latest QuickBooks release, thanks to this go-to reference covering account setup, double entry bookkeeping, invoicing customers, paying vendors, tracking inventory, creating a business plan, cloud storage, and everything else QuickBooks can do for you. Plus, you can access your information from any device with new online features, making it easy to manage your business on the go. Dummies walks you through everything, step by step"-- Provided by publisher.
In this candid and riveting memoir, for the first time ever, Nike founder and CEO Phil Knight shares the inside story of the company's early days as an intrepid start-up and its evolution into one of the world's most iconic, game-changing, and profitable brands. In 1962, fresh out of business school, Phil Knight borrowed $50 from his father and created a company with a simple mission: import high-quality, low-cost athletic shoes from Japan. Selling the shoes from the trunk of his lime green Plymouth Valiant, Knight grossed $8,000 his first year. Today, Nike's annual sales top $30 billion. In an age of startups, Nike is the ne plus ultra of all startups, and the swoosh has become a revolutionary, globe-spanning icon, one of the most ubiquitous and recognizable symbols in the world today. But Knight, the man behind the swoosh, has always remained a mystery. Now, for the first time, in a memoir that is candid, humble, gutsy, and wry, he tells his story, beginning with his crossroads moment. At 24, after backpacking around the world, he decided to take the unconventional path, to start his own business--a business that would be dynamic, different. Knight details the many risks and daunting setbacks that stood between him and his dream--along with his early triumphs. Above all, he recalls the formative relationships with his first partners and employees, a ragtag group of misfits and seekers who became a tight-knit band of brothers. Together, harnessing the transcendent power of a shared mission, and a deep belief in the spirit of sport, they built a brand that changed everything.
Why are some people and organizations more innovative, more influential, and more profitable than others? Why do some command greater loyalty from customers and employees alike? Even among the successful, why are so few able to repeat their success over and over? People like Martin Luther King Jr., Steve Jobs, and the Wright Brothers might have little in common, but they all started with why. It was their natural ability to start with why that enabled them to inspire those around them and to achieve remarkable things. In studying the leaders who've had the greatest influence in the world, Simon Sinek discovered that they all think, act, and communicate in the exact same way -- and it's the complete opposite of what everyone else does. Sinek calls this idea The Golden Circle, and it provides a framework upon which organizations can be built, movements can be lead, and people can be inspired. And it all starts with WHY. Any organization can explain what it does; some can explain how they do it; but very few can clearly articulate why. WHY is not money or profit -- those are always results. WHY does your organization exist? WHY does it do the things it does? WHY do customers really buy from one company or another? WHY are people loyal to some leaders, but not others? Starting with WHY works in big business and small business, in the nonprofit world and in politics. Those who start with WHY never manipulate, they inspire. And the people who follow them don't do so because they have to; they follow because they want to.
Artificial Intelligence is unquestionably the way of the future - it permeates every aspect of marketing and customer service, from bots to speech recognition to computational decision making. By 2030, it is forecast that AI will boost global GDP by 14%, or nearly.
We live in the age of the algorithm. Increasingly, the decisions that affect our lives (where we go to school, whether we get a car loan, how much we pay for health insurance) are being made not by humans, but by mathematical models. In theory, this should lead to greater fairness: everyone is judged according to the same rules, and bias is eliminated. But as Cathy O'Neil reveals in this book, the opposite is true. The models being used today are opaque, unregulated, and uncontestable, even when they are wrong. Most troubling, they reinforce discrimination: if a poor student can't get a loan because a lending model deems him too risky (by virtue of his zip code), he is then cut off from the kind of education that could pull him out of poverty, and a vicious spiral ensues. Models are propping up the lucky and punishing the downtrodden, creating a 'toxic cocktail for democracy.' Welcome to the dark side of big data. Tracing the arc of a person's life, O'Neil exposes the black box models that shape our future, both as individuals and as a society. These 'weapons of math destruction' score teachers and students, sort r�esum�es, grant (or deny) loans, evaluate workers, target voters, set parole, and monitor our health. O'Neil calls on modelers to take more responsibility for their algorithms and on policy makers to regulate their use. But in the end, it is up to us to become more savvy about the models that govern our lives.
"Everything you need to know about writing for business -- from working out the message you want to send, to understanding your audience. As everyone adjusts to new ways of working, using words to engage, inform, persuade, or sell to others is increasingly important. Writing Skills for Business is packed full of quick tips and nuggets of advice on how to communicate better in your writing. From understanding the needs of your intended audience, to selecting the right layout and the most persuasive tone and style, this new guide will help you produce the most effective communications -- whether that's internal reports, business plans, team briefings, social media posts or presentations."--Back cover.
The Wiley CPA Study Guides four-volume set, fully updated for the 2022 CPA exam, reviews all four parts of the exam and provides the detailed information candidates need to master or reinforce tough topic areas. Content is organized into Bite-Sized Lessons that map perfectly to the Wiley CPA online course. The books are designed to supplement the online course but may also be used as a stand-alone study tool.
The Wiley CPA Practice Questions four-volume set provides 2,000 multiple-choice questions (500 per part) and 20 task-based simulations (5 per part) to test your knowledge of content on all four sections of the CPA exam and are the perfect companion to the Wiley CPA Study Guides and are meant to reinforce this valuable study text. These practice questions map to the Wiley CPA online course and are specifically designed to test your AICPA Blueprint knowledge, including how questions are worded on the CPA exam.
"The sensible strategies in this book will help the reader take control of their finances, clean up their credit report, and rebuild their credit. This book discusses how to prioritize debts and create a budget, reduce debts and cut expenses, negotiate with creditors, correct credit report errors and remove old information, add positive information to a credit report, adopt strategies to rebuild credit, and avoid identity theft and credit repair scams"-- Provided by publisher.
"The COVID-19 crisis has fundamentally changed the way B2B companies interact with customers, forcing companies to transition from face-to-face meetings to virtual customer interactions overnight. Even after the initial local and regional travel limitations are lifted, corporate travel is expected to be limited and it is uncertain that customers will be open to receive external partners on-site. This presents an urgent need for companies to transform towards a more virtual customer engagement model -- where the first (and the most urgent) step is upskilling the commercial frontline by equipping them with the confidence, skillset and toolbox needed to effectively engage customers virtually -- and hence secure existing and future revenue streams. The Virtual Sales Handbook will target Commercial Frontline people (customer-facing people such as sales representatives, commercial managers, customer relationship managers) and will have a very hands-on, concrete "how-to" approach -- so the reader can apply the learnings and concepts in their customer interactions immediately. We will equip the reader with the confidence, skillset and toolbox needed to effectively engage customers virtually -- making them more fit for how sales in the future will look like and hence drive their existing and future revenue streams"-- Provided by publisher.
Most entrepreneurs and executives would like their employees to feel engaged in the business, to go the extra mile, to think and act like owners. But they aren't sure how to create such an environment. That's where Partners on the Payroll comes in. In this short but powerful book, veteran business coach Bill Fotsch shows how any business can transform its employees into full-scale partners--people who understand the business and work together to improve its performance. Fotsch, who has worked with more than four hundred companies over the years, begins with a simple argument: our free-enterprise society needs partnership to overcome the divisions that threaten it. He then takes the reader step-by-step through the process of creating a partnership company, illustrating his points with fascinating stories of businesses, both large and small, that have transformed themselves. Readable and hard-hitting, this is the book for any owner or manager who wants to build not just a better business but a better world. -- Amazon.com description.
"Provides easy an easy-to-use practitioner-based reference guide to build, expand, and improve fundamental human resource practices to integrate HR as a strategic component in the success of small businesses and start-up companies. Features include: HR essential policies and practices with adaptable tools and templates Talent management strategies for small companies/start-ups. Change management strategies during expansion and growth. A supplemental professional development assessment for leaders/managers"-- Provided by publisher.
Precise instructions and descriptions in this book enable users, consultants, IT managers, and students to understand Microsoft Dynamics 365 for Finance and Operations rapidly. Dynamics 365 for Finance and Operations is a comprehensive business management solution for large and mid-sized organizations, which includes the core products Dynamics 365 Supply Chain Management and Dynamics 365 Finance. This book provides the required knowledge to handle all basic business processes in the application. The exercises in the book also make it a good choice for self-study. Content Basics and Technology ; Navigation and User Interface ; Supply Chain Management ; Trade and Logistics ; Advanced Warehouse Management ; Manufacturing ; Financial Management Target Group IT executives IT professionals and consultants for business management solutions New and current users of Dynamics 365 Students of information technology, business administration, and similar disciplines.
The Law of Contracts and the Uniform Commercial Code by Pamela Tepper
Crowned “the picture of grace” by Vogue magazine, the founder of The Plaza Hotel's Finishing Program spills her insider tips on how to achieve an upper edge in your career. Etiquette expert Myka Meier has coached thousands of business professionals and worked with internal human resources and hiring departments of some of the most successful Fortune 100 companies to learn what it takes to be the best in business. It may surprise you to learn that etiquette is what differentiates you from everyone else, and Business Etiquette Made Easy shows you how to put your best professional foot forward. Whether you're just entering the workforce or have been working for many years and want to revamp your image, Myka shares practical tips that are simple to incorporate into your everyday business life. Through easy-to-follow chapters, you'll learn how to: Master resumes and interviews at any levelDress like a polished professionalMake a great first impressionNetwork like a proHave superb business dining table mannersAnd much, much more! Perfect for a recent college graduate as well as those looking to climb the ladder in their respective jobs or industries, Business Etiquette Made Easy is an essential read for any working professional.
A blueprint for managing people, not generations Unfairly Labeled challenges the very concept of'generational differences'as an unfair generalization, and offers a roadmap to intergenerational understanding. While acknowledging that generational stereotypes exist, author Jessica Kriegel argues that they are wrong—and that it's unreasonable to assume that the millions of people born in the same 20-year time span are motivated by the same things, attracted to the same things, and should be dealt with in the same way. Kriegel's experience as Organizational Developer at Oracle puts her squarely in the talent strategy realm, where she works to optimize leadership development, team effectiveness, and organizational design. Drawing upon her experiences with workers of all ages and types, she shows how behaviors know no generational boundaries and how to work with people based on their talents, strengths, and weaknesses rather than simply slapping on a generational label and fitting them into an arbitrary slot. There are 80 million Millenials in America, yet there are myriad books on'managing Millenials'and'working with Millenials'and'the problem with Millenials.
Welcome to the marketing field! If you are interested in a career as a marketing professional, you've come to the right book. What exactly do these people do on the job every day? What kind of skills and educational background do you need to succeed in this field? How much can you expect to make, and what are the pros and cons of these various professions? Is this the right career path for you? How do you avoid burnout and deal with stress? This book can help you answer these questions and more.Marketing Professionals: A Practical Career Guide includes interviews with marketing professionals. This book covers the following job areas in marketing:Digital marketingSEO (search engine optimization) and web analyticsSocial media marketingGraphic designBrand managementProduct marketing