Emotional Intelligence and the Leader's Role, confirms that a leader's emotional intelligence is more important than how much he or she knows. The challenge of this book to existing and would-be leaders is to look within and to recognize the power of emotional intelligence as an opportunity to honor the people who leaders are obligated to lead and serve. We believe that emotional intelligence asks leaders to genuinely love those with whom they labor and provides a basis for treating people so well that they become the best version of themselves.
This book discusses the federal Family and Medical Leave Act (FMLA) for employers. It provides detailed information, sample forms, and tools to help human resource professionals and managers determine who is eligible for leave, what types of leave are covered, how much leave employees may take, and how to comply with notice and other paperwork requirements
Publication Date: Washington, DC : Cato Institute. 2021
'A truly excellent book that explains where our pandemic response went wrong, and how we can understand those failings using the tools of economics.'—Tyler Cowen, Holbert L. Harris Chair of Economics at George Mason University and coauthor of the blog Marginal RevolutionHave you ever stopped to wonder why hand sanitizer was missing from your pharmacy for months after the COVID-19 pandemic hit? Why some employers and employees were arguing over workers being re-hired during the first COVID-19 lockdown? Why passenger airlines were able to get their own ring-fenced bailout from Congress? Economics in One Virus answers all these pandemic-related questions and many more, drawing on the dramatic events of 2020 to bring to life some of the most important principles of economic thought. Packed with supporting data and the best new academic evidence, those uninitiated in economics will be given a crash-course in the subject through the applied case-study of the COVID-19 pandemic, to help explain everything from why the U.S. was underprepared for the pandemic to how economists go about valuing the lives saved from lockdowns. After digesting this highly readable, fast-paced, and provocative virus-themed economic tour, readers will be able to make much better sense of the events that they've lived through. Perhaps more importantly, the insights on everything from the role of the price mechanism to trade and specialization will grant even those wholly new to economics the skills to think like an economist in their own lives and when evaluating the choices of their political leaders.
Without trust, people and businesses fail. Trusted Leader provides a framework for building trust so that you and your organizations can perform at your best.“A lack of trust is your biggest expense,” says Wall Street Journal bestselling author David Horsager. Without trust, transactions cannot occur. Without trust, influence is destroyed. Without trust, leaders lose their people. Trust can be either your most vulnerable weakness or your greatest asset. Horsager introduces readers to his Eight Pillars of Trust through the journey of a senior leader who thought success was certain. Follow CEO Ethan Parker as he discovers the power of trust and how to apply it amid the complexities of leadership, change, and culture transformation. The Eight Pillars of Trust (Clarity, Compassion, Character, Competency, Commitment, Connection, Contribution, and Consistency) are based on Horsager's original research and extensive experience working with Fortune 500 companies and top government agencies around the globe. In addition to the business parable, this book is rich in practical advice for implementing each of the Eight Pillars. You will learn strategies to increase alignment, overcome attrition, and get absolutely clear on executing your top priorities. Horsager offers a road map for how to become the most trusted expert in your industry.
It is the first time that the different strategic advertising mechanisms are explained in a single book. And this is also the first time that a book has brought together the most important and transcendent (for its applicability to the advertising market) strategic advertising mechanisms. The text explains from classic mechanisms such as Rosser Reeves's USP or Procter & Gamble's copy strategy to modern mechanisms such as Kevin Roberts's Lovemarks or Douglas Holt's iconic brands. It also considers European mechanisms such as Jacques Séguéla's star strategy or Henri Joannis's psychological axis. The book has the most complete academic review. Strategic Advertising Mechanisms: From Copy Strategy to Iconic Brands, integrates the most important strategic advertising mechanisms developed throughout the time: USP, brand image, positioning, Lovemarks... This is the first and only book to date that compiles the most consolidated methods by advertisers or advertising agencies (P&G, Bates, Ogilvy or Euro) in the history of modern advertising. Primary readership will be among practitioners, researchers, scholars and students in a range of disciplines, including communication, advertising, business and economic, information and communication, sociology, psychology and humanities. There may also be appeal to the more general reader with an interest in how advertising strategic planning works.
Reduce your taxes Deduct It! shows you how to maximize your business deductions—quickly, easily, and legally. Whether your business is just starting or well established, this book is indispensable to your financial success. It covers deductions for: start-up and operating expenses travel and meals home offices medical expenses equipment and inventory and more. Learn about new tax rules for deducting a net operating loss, the expanded employee retention tax credit, and COVID-19 sick and family leave tax credits. The book also covers everything you need to know about the 20% pass-through deduction. Easy to read and full of real-world examples, Deduct It! will pay for itself many times over. This edition covers amended and extended tax laws for business owners affected by the coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic.
Everyone needs to budget money and manage costs, whether for groceries and everyday purchases, rent or mortgage, education, retirement, or even a business. Like it or not, accounting infuses most everything in life. From credits, debits, and basic bookkeeping to getting the most out of tax deductions and from reading or creating a business' financial statement to better understanding accounting lingo.
With our ever-increasing reliance on computer technology in every field of modern life, the need for continuously evolving and improving cyber security remains a constant imperative. This book presents the 3 keynote speeches and 10 papers delivered at the 2nd Singapore Cyber Security R&D Conference (SG-CRC 2017), held in Singapore, on 21-22 February 2017. SG-CRC 2017 focuses on the latest research into the techniques and methodologies of cyber security. The goal is to construct systems which are resistant to cyber-attack, enabling the construction of safe execution environments and improving the security of both hardware and software by means of mathematical tools and engineering approaches for the design, verification and monitoring of cyber-physical systems. Covering subjects which range from messaging in the public cloud and the use of scholarly digital libraries as a platform for malware distribution, to low-dimensional bigram analysis for mobile data fragment classification, this book will be of interest to all those whose business it is to improve cyber security.
This book is designed to provide the reader with the fundamental concepts of cybersecurity and cybercrime in an easy to understand, “self-teaching” format. It introduces all of the major subjects related to cybersecurity, including data security, threats and viruses, malicious software, firewalls and VPNs, security architecture and design, security policies, cyberlaw, cloud security, and more. Features:Provides an overview of cybersecurity and cybercrime subjects in an easy to understand, “self-teaching” formatCovers security related to emerging technologies such as cloud security, IoT, AES, and grid challengesIncludes discussion of information systems, cryptography, data and network security, threats and viruses, electronic payment systems, malicious software, firewalls and VPNs, security architecture and design, security policies, cyberlaw, and more.
Avoid becoming the next ransomware victim by taking practical steps today Colonial Pipeline. CWT Global. Brenntag. Travelex. The list of ransomware victims is long, distinguished, and sophisticated. And it's growing longer every day. In Ransomware Protection Playbook, computer security veteran and expert penetration tester Roger A. Grimes delivers an actionable blueprint for organizations seeking a robust defense against one of the most insidious and destructive IT threats currently in the wild. You'll learn about concrete steps you can take now to protect yourself or your organization from ransomware attacks. In addition to walking you through the necessary technical preventative measures, this critical book will show you how to: Quickly detect an attack, limit the damage, and decide whether to pay the ransom Implement a pre-set game plan in the event of a game-changing security breach to help limit the reputational and financial damage Lay down a secure foundation of cybersecurity insurance and legal protection to mitigate the disruption to your life and business A must-read for cyber and information security professionals, privacy leaders, risk managers, and CTOs, Ransomware Protection Playbook is an irreplaceable and timely resource for anyone concerned about the security of their, or their organization's, data.
Learn to create high-performance, error-free programs by understanding the core principles and techniques behind programming in C++Key FeaturesGain a solid understanding of the syntax and anatomy of C++Implement best practices when building high-performance C++ programsPrepare for real-world development tasks by tackling engaging activitiesBook DescriptionC++ is the backbone of many games, GUI-based applications, and operating systems. Learning C++ effectively is more than a matter of simply reading through theory, as the real challenge is understanding the fundamentals in depth and being able to use them in the real world. If you're looking to learn C++ programming efficiently, this Workshop is a comprehensive guide that covers all the core features of C++ and how to apply them. It will help you take the next big step toward writing efficient, reliable C++ programs.The C++ Workshop begins by explaining the basic structure of a C++ application, showing you how to write and run your first program to understand data types, operators, variables and the flow of control structures. You'll also see how to make smarter decisions when it comes to using storage space by declaring dynamic variables during program runtime.Moving ahead, you'll use object-oriented programming (OOP) techniques such as inheritance, polymorphism, and class hierarchies to make your code structure organized and efficient. Finally, you'll use the C++ standard library?s built-in functions and templates to speed up different programming tasks.By the end of this C++ book, you will have the knowledge and skills to confidently tackle your own ambitious projects and advance your career as a C++ developer.What you will learnUnderstand how a C++ program is written, executed, and compiledEfficiently work with the essential C++ data types and variablesBuild your own C++ applications by writing clear and error-free codeGrasp the core principles behind object-oriented programmingSimplify your code by using templates and the standard libraryDebug logical errors and handle exceptions in your programWho this book is forThis Workshop is for anyone who is new to C++ who wants to build a strong foundation for C++ game programming or application development. Basic prior knowledge of data structures and OOP concepts, as well as experience in any other programming language, will help you grasp the concepts covered in this book more easily.
Information security is important in every aspect of daily life. This book examines four areas where risks are present: artificial intelligence (AI), the internet of things (IoT), government and malware. The authors channel their experience and research into an accessible body of knowledge for consideration by professionals. AI is introduced as a tool for healthcare, security and innovation. The advantages of using AI in new industries are highlighted in the context of recent developments in mechanical engineering, and a survey of AI software risks is presented focusing on well-publicized failures and US FDA regulatory guidelines. The risks associated with the billions of devices that form the IoT grow with the availability of such devices in consumer products, healthcare, energy infrastructure and transportation. The risks, software engineering risk mitigation methods and standards promoting a level of care for the manufacture of IoT devices are examined because of their importance for software developers. Strategic insights for software developers looking to do business with the US federal government are presented, considering threats to both public and private sectors as well as governmental priorities from recent executive and legislative branch actions. Finally, an analysis of malicious software that infects numerous computer systems each day and causes millions of dollars in damages every year is presented. Malicious software, or “malware,” is software designed with hostile intent, but the damage may be mitigated with static and dynamic analyses, which are processes for studying how malware operates and analyzing potential impacts.