New Books in the HTC Library (2021 - 2023)

Organized by subject with detailed answers to every question, 500 HESI A2 Questions to Know by Test Day, Second Edition provides excellent practice to help you make the most of your review time. With small bits of information presented for quick and easy reference and smart strategies for test day, this essential study guide is helpful for all types of students, whether you’re looking for a thorough refresh of topics or need extra help understanding specific topics or question types.

As part of the popular At a Glance series, Anatomy & Physiology for Nursing & Healthcare Students provides a wonderful introduction to the topic and is written with the student nurse in mind. This is also a useful reference guide for any healthcare professional looking for a quick refresher on the human body. The book strikes a balance between being succinct without being superficial, with concise writing that provides an overview of anatomy and physiology.

Healthcare professions typically attract those who give deeply of themselves to make a positive difference in others’ lives. But that giving can come at a significant price: burnout. While the healthcare vocation offers myriad options in work settings and career paths, it can also involve tremendous amounts of stress because of long shifts, mental and physical exhaustion, patient challenges, and regulatory changes. When stress and fatigue overtake a healthcare provider’s ability to adequately cope with physically and emotionally taxing circumstances, burnout is often the result, potentially leading to compromises in quality and patient safety. In Beyond Burnout, Second Edition, author Suzanne Waddill-Goad adds new strategies and up-to-date, data-driven information for building hardiness and resilience so that nurses and other healthcare workers can successfully navigate their increasingly challenging environment while reducing stress and preventing burnout.

CBD (cannabidiol), a nonintoxicating compound derived from the cannabis plant, can be found in products ranging from lotion and smoothies to chewable gummies and pet treats. It’s been promoted—but not always scientifically validated—as a treatment for medical conditions including psychosis, anxiety, pain, and even cancer. This book by three leading cannabis researchers looks at the science of CBD. It offers a comprehensive review of the scientific literature on the possible benefits of CBD, describing findings from both preclinical and human clinical studies.
The authors report that the current CBD fad has some basis in preclinical animal research that indicates potential beneficial effects. Clinical studies, hampered by regulations governing research with cannabis, have lagged behind the basic animal research. The authors examine what research shows about chemical and pharmacological aspects of CBD and CBD’s interaction with THC, the main psychotropic compound found in cannabis. They go on to review current state of knowledge about CBD’s effectiveness in treating epilepsy, cancer, nausea, pain, anxiety, PTSD, depression, sleep disorders, psychosis, and addiction.

Trauma-informed care is emerging as a critical component of pediatric best practices. With this new practical guide, pediatricians and other child health professionals will learn to identify, evaluate, and treat children and families affected by trauma and adversity when they present at the office. In addition to instruction for acute, hands-on care, the cohesive approach offered in this guide also lays out a framework and concrete steps to transform practices into ones that are trauma-sensitive and can provide the best, most impactful care to all patients.Childhood Trauma and Resilience: A Practical Guide includes mnemonics, charts, tables, and numerous case studies to reinforce learning, as well as timely information on physician burnout and secondary traumatic stress. More than 20 reproducible handouts on topics such as attachment, cultural connections, and promoting resilience, will help pediatricians engage with parents on these important related topics and focus on the family factors that can help prevent and mitigate the effects of trauma.

Clinical judgement and decision making are terms that are frequently used in nursing. But what do they mean and how can they be effectively applied in practice? In straightforward language, this book helps you to develop the necessary skills to make and apply sound clinical decisions. It breaks down the factors involved in decision making and shows you how to use evidence, critical enquiry and reflection to do so with confidence.

Written by renowned nursing education expert Donna D. Ignatavicius and a team of expert item writers, this practical workbook focuses on developing clinical reasoning skills needed to succeed on the NGN-PN and in clinical practice. This collection of engaging and practical thinking exercises has been carefully developed to incorporate the National Council of State Boards of Nursing (NCSBN) Clinical Judgment Measurement Model (CJMM) and to emphasize the new item types that will be integral to the NGN-PN. Exercises range from basic to more complex and address all key content areas to fully prepare you for all facets of the exam.

For nearly 50 years, Elsevier’s Intravenous Medications: A Handbook for Nurses and Health Professionals has been a trusted resource for complete, accurate drug information in a concise, quick-access format. New to the 2024 edition are 8 monographs of the most recent IV drugs to be approved by the FDA, in addition to updated drug uses, interactions, precautions, alerts, and patient teaching instructions for all current IV drugs. This annual publication is ideal for use in critical care areas, at the nursing station, in the office, and in public health and home care settings.

This resource guide is written in the approachable and entertaining Incredibly Easy style, communicating must-have information while clarifying real-world applications. Step-by-step directions boost confidence in balancing fluids and electrolytes, understanding fluid imbalances and the disorders that cause them, treating imbalances, and more. Helpful tips throughout reinforce key concepts, provide important care reminders, and strengthen problem-solving and patient teaching capabilities.

Assure your mastery of the fundamentals of nursing while developing your critical-thinking, clinical judgment, and test-taking skills. Over 1,200 classroom-tested, NCLEX-style questions—including more than 440 alternate-item-format questions prepare you for success now and on the Next Gen NCLEX. An easy-to-follow format organizes information into 25 content areas. Each question provides answers and rationales for correct and incorrect responses and strategies for how to develop your critical-thinking skills.

A concise, practical handbook, Getting Started in Teaching for Nursing and the Health Professions provides a foundation for new instructors, with a focus on need-to-know content. It helps you quickly learn and apply strategies for teaching in the classroom, teaching in the clinical setting, using technology to enhance learning, and evaluating the effectiveness of your efforts.

This book introduces the theory and concepts of health promotion and how to incorporate them into your clinical practice. Focused on the practical skills you need, it develops your confidence in promoting health and wellbeing effectively among individuals, families and diverse communities, as well as in yourself.

Former first lady Rosalynn Carter, a longtime advocate for caregivers and mental health, knows firsthand the challenges of this labor of love. Drawing upon her own experiences and those of hundreds of others whose stories she gathered over many decades, Mrs. Carter offers reassuring, practical advice to any caregiver who has faced stress, anxiety, or loneliness.
Helping Yourself Help Others, reissued here with a new foreword, is as relevant as ever. Long before the COVID-19 pandemic inspired national conversations about the vast undervaluing of unpaid caregiving, the dangers of burnout, and the merits of self-care for relief, Rosalynn Carter was shining a light on these matters and everything else that caregivers confront. Filled with empathy, this encouraging guide will help you meet a difficult challenge head-on and find fulfillment and empowerment in your caregiving role.

Trivium Test Prep’s HESI A2 Study Guide 2022-2023: Admission Assessment Exam Prep with Practice Test Questions offers a full review of what you need to know for the HESI A2 exam, practice questions for you to practice and improve, and test tips to help you score higher. It covers mathematics, reading, vocabulary, grammar, biology, chemistry, anatomy and physiology, and physics, and includes a full practice test.

Empowering, engaging, and retaining qualified nurses are critical healthcare priorities. Why? Nurse retention is directly correlated to healthcare outcomes, and nurse turnover has a negative, multidimensional effect on healthcare organizations. Turnover affects job satisfaction among clinical nurses, which leads to burnout, making it harder for them to provide safe patient care and achieve overall organizational initiatives. Further, the high costs associated with nurse turnover can have a huge impact on a hospital's or health system's profit margin. Improving Nurse Retention & Healthcare Outcomes will help clinical nurses understand how to elevate their practice as frontline care providers and give executives a new, strategic approach to nurse retention.

Bringing insights from linguistics to those without a background in this field, An Introduction to Language and Communication for Allied Health and Social Care Professions enables readers to better appreciate the ways in which language functions simultaneously as an instrument to encode and communicate meaning, build and sustain interpersonal relationships, and express identity.

Introduction to Nursing Research: Incorporating Evidence-Based Practice, Fifth Edition teaches nursing students how to integrate evidence-based practice and research into their work while considering the newest trends and research. Introduction to Nursing Research: Incorporating Evidence-Based Practice, Fifth Edition emphasizes EBP as a foundation for safe and effective health care. The text focuses on the connection between research and evidence based practice as related to the IOM, Macy report, Carnegie report, and federal health bill as appropriate. In addition, the Fifth Edition also discusses the impact of Magnet hospitals on research utilization, evidence-based practice, and moving evidence into practice.

The goal of EBP in healthcare is to promote improved interventions, care, and patient outcomes. Johns Hopkins Evidence-Based Practice for Nurses and Healthcare Professionals has proven to be one of the most foundational books on EBP in nursing and healthcare. Building on the strength of previous versions, the fourth edition is fully revised to include updated content based on more than a decade of the model's use, refinement in real-life settings, and feedback from nurses and other healthcare professionals around the world.

This book addresses learning/intellectual disability nursing from various perspectives, including historical and contemporary practice, health promotion, interventions for good mental health, people with profound disabilities and complex needs, care across the lifespan, and forensics. This new edition has been comprehensively updated throughout and now includes two entirely new chapters. One covers liaison nursing, and the other explores the future for learning/intellectual disability nursing. The book includes numerous case studies and learning activities to support the reader, as well as remaining clinically relevant.

Legal and Ethical Issues for Health Professionals, 5th Edition provides a guide to legal concepts and ethical principles and how they are applied in common healthcare scenarios. Content includes key topics such as the legal system, bioethical issues, employment laws, torts, and medical malpractice and liability, as well as current issues such as medical marijuana, the opioid crisis, gender identity, and public health and immunization policies. Updated to meet the needs of today’s workplace, this text prepares you to fulfill the moral and professional responsibilities of the healthcare provider.

Medical Terminology: Active Learning Through Case Studies provides a unique approach and considers medical words in terms of common combining forms, prefixes, and suffixes to determine meaning in context. The text is organized by body system with related terms describing anatomical features, pathologies, and procedures grouped together in story form for easy recall. The book is designed to provide instructors with a framework for students to apply their medical terminology knowledge as part of the learning process. The case studies have been designed as classroom activities for a semester-long medical terminology course and can also be integrated into course assessments or assigned for review and reinforcement.

Mosby's 2024 Nursing Drug Reference makes it easy to find the most vital information on the drugs administered most frequently. More than 5,000 drugs are profiled ― including more than 25 new entries for drugs recently approved by the FDA. And no other drug guide places a higher emphasis on patient safety, with Black Box Warnings for dangerous adverse reactions, High Alerts for drugs with the greatest risk, and a focus on both common and life-threatening side effects.

This comprehensive study guide covering the NCLEX PN covers such information as safe and effecive care environments, health promotion and maintenance, and psychosocial and physiological integrity. It also includes test-taking strategies, practice tests, comprehensive reviews, and answer explanations.

The NCLEX-PN exam is not just about what you know--it's about how you think. With expert critical thinking strategies and targeted practice, Kaplan's Next Generation NCLEX-PN Prep 2023-2024 will help you leverage your nursing knowledge and face the exam with confidence. Fully revised for the April 2023 test change, this edition scrutinizes the Next Generation NCLEX question types and spells out how to answer each.

The Nursing 2024 Drug Handbook delivers the most current nursing-focused information on more than 3,800 generic, brand-name, and combination drugs in an easy-to-use A-Z format

Acello/Hegner's NURSING ASSISTANT: A NURSING PROCESS APPROACH has prepared more nursing assistants for meaningful careers in acute care, long-term care and home health than any other text. Its signature step-by-step format walks readers through more than 150 procedures, including key skills in patient handling, wound care, communication, safety and record keeping, as well as special care procedures for patients with medical devices, catheters and physical or mental impairments. It explores essential background information, such as basic human anatomy, career planning and emerging trends. Reflecting the expanded scope of real-world practice, the 12th Edition includes skills such as checking finger stick blood glucose, managing drainage, sterile technique and more

Nursing Informatics: Scope and Standards of Practice, 3rd Edition describes a competent level of nursing care at each level of nursing informatics practice and provides comprehensive overviews of the dynamic and complex practice of the nursing informatics specialty. Published by ANA, this book is informed by advances in health care and professional nursing practice. It contains national standards of practice and performance that define the who, what, where, when, why, and how of nursing informatics practice and is a vital reference for: quality improvement initiatives, certification and credentialing, position descriptions and performance appraisals, classroom teaching and in-service education programs, boards of nursing members’ orientation programs, and regulatory decision-making activities.

Youths who are negatively affected by social determinants of health suffer adverse effects like increased risks of chronic health conditions and mental health issues. Part 2 of this series describes the adverse effects social determinants of health can have on vulnerable children around the world. The impact of social determinants such as racism, discrimination, poverty, and limited access to care can lead to adverse effects such as poor mental health, diabetes, heart disease, substance abuse, complications during childbirth, suicide, and unexpected death. This collection describes the ways in which these social determinants can produce negative outcomes for children in the present and future.

A First Aid manual of emergency care, CPR, and First Aid for infants, toddlers, preschoolers, and school-age children. It is based on the American Academy of Pediatrics, American Red Cross, and the American Heart Association best practice standards. This manual has been widely used nationally in a variety of Pediatric settings including, Child Care Centers, family child care programs, schools including special needs schools, and in the homes of families with young children.

From initial assessment to safe medication administration and patient care plans, this is the perfect supplement to class materials, offering solid preparation for NCLEX®, as well as a handy refresher for experienced nurses.

Assure your mastery of pharmacology knowledge while improving your critical-thinking and test-taking skills. Over 1,200 NCLEX-style questions reflect the latest test plan, including the more difficult SATA format. Rationales for correct and incorrect responses as well as test-taking tips help you to critically analyze the question types. Together, with a comprehensive exam at the end of the book, they provide the practice you need to build your confidence for course exams and the NCLEX.

Self-Care for New and Student Nurses presents techniques to prepare you for stressors present now and those to come. No matter where you are in your nursing career, this book offers you multiple ways to prioritize your own mental, physical, and emotional health.

Today, nursing professionals across the globe and at each stage in their career consistently ask how to navigate, grow, and expand their careers; change their career trajectories; and develop, hone, and promote their nursing identities. Nurses are focused on career-development and management areas that are far beyond writing a resumé or curriculum vitae. They are looking for career resources that apply to the many roles and challenges they face at all points and phases of their career. This book provides just that. Take Charge of Your Nursing Career, Second Edition provides nurses with a unique and distinct perspective to develop and manage their careers from beginning to end. With timely and relevant topics, strategies, tips, and examples, author, Lois Sarah Marshall helps nurses define their personal career trajectory no matter what point they are in their journey.

Teaching in Nursing: A Guide for Faculty, 7th Edition prepares you for the day-to-day challenges of teaching future nurses for practice in today's rapidly evolving healthcare system. This comprehensive resource covers all four components of nursing education: teaching and learning, curriculum, evaluation, and technology-empowered learning. You’ll benefit from the expert guidance on such key issues as curriculum and test development, diverse learning styles, the redesign of healthcare systems, advances in technology and information, global health and curricular experiences, the flipped classroom, interprofessional education, and interprofessional collaborative practice.

Nursing has a not-so-secret problem. The profession is prone to—some would say thrives on—workplace conflict, incivility, bullying, and meanness. And while nurses observe and experience this conflict daily, too few have been trained in its resolution. Toxic Nursing aims to change that with strategies, tools, and techniques to help nurse leaders, managers, and administrators defuse conflict, turn around toxic situations, and create positive, healthy work environments.

Critical thinking can be the difference between keeping patients safe and putting them in harm's way. But as a student nurse, you may find that mastering these skills is challenging, and you may lack confidence in assessing your patient's health. Case studies are beneficial, but some are more effective than others. Traditionally, they present in­formation upfront, and your patient's status is pre­determined. But that isn't realistic as your patient's health can take an unexpected turn. Unfolding case studies provide new information while you read, teaching you to think critically and apply what you learned in nursing school to real-life situations you'll face on the job.

This book was designed with student nurses in mind. It is intended to serve as a tool to provide practice, enhance learning, and increase the propensity for retention and application of basic concepts of health and physical assessment. The book can be used by early-career nursing students who have just begun to cover its concepts as well as by pre-licensure exam students who may benefit from reiteration and reinforcement of concepts learned early on in nursing school and from practicing applying these concepts to more complex scenarios.

The world is constantly changing, and during a time of great challenges, our healthcare systems must evolve—moving beyond an illness narrative and toward one that focuses on health and healing. In doing so, our leadership styles must evolve as well. Visionary Leadership in Healthcare informs, expands, and empowers nurse leaders to envision and transform the current healthcare system using an evolved worldview to achieve a global, life-sustaining perspective. Authors and skilled, experienced nurse leaders Holly Wei and Sara Horton-Deutsch model their call to move away from hierarchical leadership to more engaged, open, equitable, inclusive, authentic, and caring leadership styles.

The Mometrix guide is filled with the critical information you will need in order to do well on your CDA exam: the concepts, procedures, principles, and vocabulary that the Dental Assisting National Board (DANB) expects you to have mastered before sitting for your exam. Test sections include collection and recording of clinical data, chairside dental procedures and materials,
laboratory materials and procedures, patient education & oral health management, prevention and management of emergencies, office management procedures, radiologic imaging concept/process, and radiation health.

The newly revised Fourth Edition of Questions and Answers for Dental Nurses delivers a comprehensive and invaluable revision guide that covers the full curriculum of the National Examining Board for Dental Nurses (NEBDN) National Diploma in Dental Nursing. It is fully updated and incorporates recent developments in dentistry and changes to relevant legislation and regulation.