"Learn all the skills you need with this book to pass Level 3 and 4 Vehicle Diagnostic courses from IMI, City and Guilds and BTEC, as well as ASE, AUR, and other higher-level qualifications"-- Provided by publisher.
The objective of this book is to present a fundamental development of the science and engineering underlying the design of exhaust aftertreatment systems for automotive internal combustion engines. No pre-requisite knowledge of the field is required: our objective is to acquaint the reader, whom we expect to be new to the field of emissions control, with the underlying principles, control methods, common problems, and fuel effects on catalytic exhaust aftertreatment devices. We do this in hope that they can better understand the previous and current generations of emissions control, and improve upon them. This book is designed for the engineer, researcher, designer, student, or any combination of those, who is concerned with the control of automotive exhaust emissions. It includes discussion of theory and fundamentals applicable to hardware development.
Wolmar's entertaining polemic sets out the many technical, legal and moral problems that obstruct the path to a driverless future, and debunks many of the myths around that future's purported benefits.
Energy Efficiency of Vehicles educates readers about energy and the environment and the relationship between the energy we use and the environment. The world is at a point in time when people need to make very important decisions about energy in the next few decades. This book enables readers to utilize our scientific knowledge to make good rational decisions. Energy Efficiency of Vehicles provides information on: Calculations related to energy, power, and efficiency, and the impact of using different types of energy on the environment. Environmental consequences of consuming energy. Models related to impact of city driving on the energy efficiency and fuel economy of cars and trucks.
Power management involves all the power consumed in an electric vehicle (EV), so it impacts the vehicle's performance, safety, and driving range. To provide these vehicle characteristics, power management: Ensures that the proper power, voltage, and current are applied to each electronic circuit. Ensures that there is isolation between low-voltage and highvoltage (HV) circuits. Offers power circuit protection against electrical disturbances that can affect internal or external circuits. Managing Electric Vehicle Power provides complete coverage for understanding how best to utilize the primary power source across all the EV's Electric Control Units. Readers will also be introduced to the qualification standards of the Automotive Electronics Council (AEC).
Communication between vehicles and infrastructure will enable an entirely new way of managing and accommodating traffic, pedestrians, and the surrounding environment, changing the nature of travel going forward. Networking Vehicles to Everything provides those seriously interested in vehicular automation with a state of the art resource for a deep understanding of the many competing technologies that will be united to enable the technology in years to come. This in-depth account covers challenges, case considerations, current activities in standards, product implementation, and upcoming trends such as software reconfiguration, mmWave technology and advanced control theory tools. Readers will gain in-depth understanding of the main bodies and institutions developing and regulating the technology, current technological battles including in particular IEEE 802.11p and 3GPP LTE V2X technologies which compete for the top-spot in a multi-billion market.
In 'Service Advising and Management', students gain the communication, customer service, and automotive knowledge they need to balance competing demands from customers, technicians, and shop management to become successful service advisors. • Covers effective communication skills for all phases of the service process, from initial greeting and walk-around inspection to writing the repair order and vehicle re-delivery • Reviews basic vehicle operations for working with technicians and explaining issues to customers • Explains the importance of inspection-based selling and producing strong service write-ups • Emphasizes customer service and verbal communication skills with a focus on active listening, addressing concerns, and eliminating barriers to customer loyalty • Puts knowledge into practice with application chapters that enhance write-up and relationship skills • Contains real-world “Advisor Tips” and other pedagogical tools to reinforce new knowledge, such as review questions, bulleted takeaways, and key terms for each chapter 'Service Advising and Management' allows service advising students to become an integral part of any automotive shop, building long-term customer relationships and a better customer experience along the way.