The book provides a 28-step process that is organized according to the three phases of architectural design: schematic design, design development, and construction documents Each step explains the application of the IBC, as well as other codes and standards referenced by the IBC (i.e. International Fire Code, International Energy Conservation Code, and ANSI A117.1) based on available project information Illustrations and examples are provided throughout that explain the code fundamentals associated with each step A single example project is used throughout the step-by-step process to illustrate how each step is applied and builds upon code and project information obtained through previous steps Guidance is also provided on the International Existing Building Code and how the step-by-step process is applied to projects involving existing buildings The role of the building department and its staff in regard to plan reviews and code enforcement is discussed A detailed code data information template is provided that can help organize code-related information for construction documents
The most comprehensive overview of the history of furniture design ever published. The 1,000-page book documents over 1,700 objects by approximately 280 designers and 130 manufacturers, and features more than 2,750 images, from detailed object photographs to historical documentation such as interiors, patents, brochures and reference works in art and architecture.00The basis for the?Atlas of Furniture Design? is the furniture collection held by the Vitra Design Museum, one of the largest of its kind in the world with more than 7,000 works. The collection is made up of pieces from key periods in design history and by the most significant designers and manufacturers of the past 200 years, including early industrial furniture in bentwood or metal, Art Nouveau and Secessionist objects, works by protagonists of classical modernism.
An accessible, beginner-friendly resource to understand general CNC (Computer Numerical Control) principles and techniques for anyone interested in CNC woodworking and the future of these technologies. From the fundamentals of CNC to its machinery, software, tools, materials, and 2-1/2 D carving, this complete guide will teach you everything you need to know about your CNC router in a way that's clear, approachable, and easy to comprehend. Also included are step-by-step CNC projects to apply techniques learned. The general principles and instructions detailed are applicable to a wide range of software and CNC machine brands, making this must-have resource a comprehensive and inclusive guide that any woodworker can use!
"This unique reference to the 2021 International Building Code marries the graphic skills of bestselling author Frank Ching with the code expertise of Steven Winkel, FAIA. It pulls out portions of the building code that are most relevant for the architect and provides an easy-to-understand interpretation in both words and illustrations. This Seventh Edition will include three new chapters: Plumbing Fixture Counts, Elevators, and Special Construction, and an extensively expanded chapter on Existing Buildings"-- Provided by publisher.
You deserve a home that meets your specific needs and desires! If you find yourself dreaming of the perfect patio, the ideal kitchen, and inviting rooms where you love to spend time, it might just be time to start building! With Building Your Custom Home For Dummies, you won't have to feel intimidated as you plan, finance, and oversee construction on your new oasis. You'll learn what it takes to build a custom home, including which pros to call and when. This updated edition also covers the latest in real estate and home construction trends, including smart homes, green building, and banking options. It's more important than ever to live in a home that's truly how you want it, truly your own. Now is the perfect time to get started—if you're still in the dreaming stage, this book will help you identify your style and articulate your vision. If you're further along in the process, you'll benefit from checklists and pointers on reviewing architects'plans, evaluating contractor bids, flipping the home you build, and more. The latest guidance on building a beautiful home on any budget New ideas for high-tech homes with low carbon footprints Step-by-step instructions for securing financing, hiring architects, and finding reliable contractors Advice on how to invest your home-building budget wisely and plan for the future Building Your Custom Home For Dummies takes you from finding the perfect homesite through laying the foundation to framing and finishing—in the friendly Dummies style you can trust.
Furniture Studio explores the origins, methods, results, and influence of the unique and highly successful furniture design and fabrication studios offered by the University of Washington Department of Architecture. The furniture program, initiated by Andris Vanags, is an immersion into the role of materials, design, and making in architectural education. Students directly engage the physical properties of materials, and the knowledge gained through this engagement enriches the design and fabrication process. The experiences of its graduates reveal that the studio fosters creative thinking that truly integrates design and making. Ochsner presents historical background to shop-based courses, including furniture studio; traces the careers of four representative graduates of the program; and suggests implications from this program for architectural education and individual achievement beyond the University of Washington. Eleven students and the projects they created in the winter 2009 studio are profiled, and the book contains a fully illustrated catalogue of exemplary student projects from 1989 to the present. Illustrations and descriptions throughout the book showcase the heirloom-quality projects created by the students, many of which won awards in competitions.
"Hydraulic control systems are used across many engineering applications to provide motion and force control of mechanical systems. With respect to competing technologies for transmitting mechanical power (i.e. mechanical drives or electrical drives), hydraulic drives offer favorable characteristics from both the power to weight ratio and control perspectives. State-of-art hydraulic systems can be up to one order of magnitude lighter than electric systems with the same power (or torque) level. Also, compared to mechanical drives hydraulic systems offer a greater layout flexibility thanks to the versatile design of the piping or hoses system that connects the hydraulic components. Hydraulic drive technology also easily offers solutions for advanced actuator control, in terms of output velocity and force, motion reversals as well as safety functions"-- Provided by publisher.
"Whether you are totally new to 3D modeling or have already explored the world of 3D modeling, this is the SketchUp book that sets you up to conquer the basics and take your models to the next level. Start by practicing the fundamentals of design and then learn to think in 3D. Apply textures to make beautiful designs and use components to make smart, easy-to-present models. Draw quickly and accurately at the same time! Then apply your skills to home and interior design, woodworking and 3D printing, or any kind of project where you need to turn ideas into useful 3D plans."--Page 4 of cover.
The Tiny House Handbook is not an inspirational coffee-table book featuring beautiful photos of tiny houses. This book is a functional and instructional guide to planning, designing, and building a tiny house. Produced in author Charlie Wing's signature "Visual Handbook" style, with minimal text and heavily illustrated spreads, this book guides readers step-by-step through the building process from cost estimating and site planning to a completed tiny house. There are very few books on the market that reach this level of detail. This book is based on the newly revised 2018 International Residential Code (IRC) Appendix Q and includes sample construction drawings and sample floor plans for mobile (8'-wide trailers and RVs), movable (12'-wide, no transport permit), and extra-wide (>12'-wide, permit required) tiny homes.
This essential resource for professional plant growers includes techniques and advice intended for real-world greenhouse and nursery production. Information is offered on the basics of crop culture—media, nutrition, irrigation, water quality, light, temperature, crop scheduling, growth regulators, pest management, and more. In the Crops section, which is organized by botanical name, you will find details about propagation, growing on, insect and disease control, troubleshooting, and post harvest care. The plants represented in this compendium include annuals, perennials, flowering potted plants, herbs, vegetable bedding plants, and a new and detailed section on cannabis/hemp.
A valuable addition to any gardener's bookshelf, this book is the one you'll find yourself returning to again and again for common sense advice on gardening in tune with nature. A new way of thinking about shaping home grounds and public spaces in the Northeast. Most landscape manuals describe a linear sequence of processes: design, plant selection, installation, and ongoing maintenance. Integrated Landscaping is different. It uses natural ecosystems as models, taking a nonlinear, holistic approach that addresses these processes simultaneously. Integrated Landscaping treats each site as a system of plant and animal communities, considering their interrelationships with each other and their environment. Integrated Landscaping: Following Nature's Lead is a valuable resource for anyone concerned with helping to shape the landscape we all share. When we see ourselves as part of the whole, we can see that what we do in places where we live, work, and play has a ripple effect far beyond the space each of us calls "home."--Page 4 of cover.
"The Midcentury Modern Landscape explores the origins of midcentury modern garden design for the home, revealing how designers at the time blurred the divisions between indoors and outdoors, creating gardens that were for living, a style that went on to inspire contemporary gardens around the world. The Midcentury Modern Landscape is a fresh guide for those seeking bold approaches to redefine their outdoor space, or wishing to learn more about the history of mid century modern aesthetics."--Publisher's website.
A native plant is defined as one that grew wild in a particular area prior to settlement by Europeans. If you live in the Midwest, choosing plants native to the region will benefit you, your yard, and the environment by reducing maintenance tasks, and attracting earth-friendly pollinators such as native birds, butterflies, and bees. Branhagen inspires readers to include native plants in their home gardens and landscapes.
This book shows you how the software's powerful terrain and grade functions make it an ideal tool for site designers, and how to seamlessly integrate it into your workflow for more efficient design and comprehensive planning. Master the SketchUp basics, navigation, components, and scripts Turn 2D sketches into 3D models with volume, color, and material Create detailed site plans, custom furnishings, gradings, and architecture Learn sandbox tools, organization strategies, and model presentation tips SketchUp has undergone major changes since the publication of this guide's first edition, with its sale to Trimble Navigation bringing about a number of revisions and the availability of more immediately useful features. SketchUp for Site Design shows you how to harness the power of this newly expanded feature set to smooth and optimize the site design workflow.
"This fully updated guide covers the entire HVAC system design process from concept to commissioned systems. Written by a recognized HVAC expert, the book illustrates each step through photographs, drawings, and comprehensive discussions. This new edition has been completely refreshed to align with current industry standards and includes several brand-new chapters. HVAC Design Sourcebook, Second Edition contains a chapter-long case study that provides a step-by-step look at the design of a real-world HVAC project"-- Provided by publisher.