New Books in the HTC Library (2021 - 2023)

Anatomy for Oral and Maxillofacial Radiology is a handy atlas for students learning about radiography and diagnostic procedures in oral and maxillofacial medicine.

Every dental assistant faces challenges every day in his or her job. After coaching dental assistants around the country for more than a decade, Kevin Henry has compiled some of the biggest challenges he has heard and witnessed, as well as some ways to conquer them, in Battling and Beating the Demons of Dental Assisting. Whether you're a dental assisting student, new assistant, or assistant who has been in the industry for years, this book can help you not only overcome your daily struggles but open your eyes to new career possibilities. If you are serious about your career-and enjoy a spot of humor along the way-then this book is for you.

Develop the understanding of dental materials you need for successful dental hygiene practice with the book that set the standard for meaningful organization. You'll first learn about dental materials, then see how they are used in practice through laboratory and clinical applications, and finally hone your critical thinking and clinical skills using eleven realistic case studied. Up-to date content, clinical photos, and review questions provide you with everything you need for success in your course and your future career.

Introducing an essential new practical atlas for dental students and clinicians alike! The Color Atlas of Oral and Maxillofacial Diseases provides comprehensive, practical information on the most common oral and maxillofacial diseases and disorders. This new text uses a quick-access atlas format to help you easily look up clinical signs, diagnosis, and treatments. Nearly 750 high-quality images accompanied by brief narratives demonstrate exactly what clinical signs to look for - making an intervention as timely as possible. Written by four of the top dental authorities in the world, this concise resource is sure to become a clinical favorite.

If you are interested in a career in the dental assistants and hygienists (the allied health field, as it is often called), you've come to the right book. So what exactly do these people do on the job, day in and day out? What kind of skills and educational background do you need to succeed in these fields? How much can you expect to make, and what are the pros and cons of these various fields? Do these career paths have a bright future? Is this even the right career path for you? How do you avoid burnout and deal with stress? This book can help you answer these questions and more.

Dental Materials: Clinical Applications for Dental Assistants and Dental Hygienists, 4th Edition, emphasizes how knowledge of dental materials fits into day-to-day clinical practice. This hands-on resource features clinically focused content supplemented liberally with high-quality photographs, case applications, clinical tips and warnings, and step-by-step procedures, as well as practice opportunities on a companion website. Step-by-step procedures with artwork and icons. Practice opportunities for classroom and board exam prep include chapter review questions and discussion topics and practice quizzes on Evolve. Robust student practice opportunities such as competency skill worksheets, and educator support materials. An Evolve companion website with student practice opportunities and educator support materials.

Oral Medicine and Pathology at a Glance, 2nd Edition offers a comprehensive overview of essential aspects of oral medicine and pathology, with an emphasis on oral health care provision in general practice. Updated new edition, covering the most important conditions and commonly encountered oral pathologies and their clinical management Presented in the popular, highly-illustrated At a Glance style with clinical photographs throughout Written by an international author team Includes a companion website with self-assessment MCQs, further reading and downloadable images

In this book Anatomy & Physiology Made Easy, you will learn all of the necessary information without all the complications. Packed with complete body systems, illustrations, and simple explanations, this book is the ideal resource to help you learn about Anatomy and Physiology the fast way! Written in a way that is easily understood and loaded with amazing illustrations, Anatomy & Physiology Made Easy is your guide to a fantastic voyage of the human body!

Fully updated to reflect the latest changes in the healthcare field, this comprehensive yet compact guide helps nursing and health professions students become strong and confident communicators. Throughout the second edition of Communication Skills for the Healthcare Professional, a broad range of examples, role plays, and scenarios from virtually every healthcare field help students master area-specific communication skills, while practical coverage of essential verbal and nonverbal communication skills prepares them for effective practice.

The bestselling guide to carb counting from the American Diabetes Association is now better and more comprehensive than ever! If you are managing type 1 or type 2 diabetes, you need to know your carbs--what they are, which foods contain them, how many you're eating, and how to match them to your medication. This new edition of the bestselling guide from the American Diabetes Association is here to help.

Concepts and Cases in Nursing Ethics is an introduction to contemporary ethical issues in health care, designed especially for Canadian audiences. The book is organized around six key concepts: beneficence, autonomy, truth-telling, confidentiality, justice, and integrity. Each of these concepts is explained and discussed with reference to professional and legal norms. The discussion is then supplemented by case studies that exemplify the relevant concepts and show how each applies in health care and nursing practice.

Plan effective patient care using standardized interprofessional clinical problems and a concept-based approach! Conceptual Nursing Care Planning shows you how to identify clinical problems, determine expected outcomes, and choose interventions - all grounded in a logical, concept-based framework. The focus on concepts gives you the big picture, helping you recognize similarities in nursing care based on physiologic concepts, as well as differences based on the needs of individuals.

Critical Conversations in Healthcare, Second Edition, provides scripts and scenarios to facilitate better, more effective communication in healthcare settings. Chapters feature do's and don'ts, reflective questions, and practical tools to help you improve your on-the-job interactions. Whether you are a new nurse at the bedside or the CEO of a major healthcare facility, this fully revised second edition will show you how to: communicate mindfully, interpret body language, develop a growth mind-set, work with frustrated families/angry physicians/ uncooperative colleagues, deal with gossip/harassment/other tough topics, successfully address workloads/management styles, improve the patient experience, and overcome conversation traps.

Written specifically for nursing students, this book offers practical guidance on what it means to think critically as a nurse and how to apply this to study and practice. From critically reviewing literature for assessments to evaluating evidence to support decision-making in practice, the book provides a unique framework for developing essential critical skills. Each chapter is mapped to the 2018 NMC standards and includes activities and student case studies demonstrating how to apply critical thinking and reflection in practice.

In this guide, you will understand how ECGs are performed, what they represent about the heart, and what it means to see something you don't think is normal. Before you get into the hard stuff-the actual interpretation of ECGs, and what to do about what you've read-you'll study the source of the ECG, which is the heart. By reviewing what this important organ looks like and does every moment of your life, you'll see how those ECG lines get generated and what exactly they mean. Then we'll talk about how the ECG is generated and how you obtain an ECG. What is the difference between a "rhythm strip" and a 12-lead ECG, for example? What is a P wave or a QRS complex? After you learn these, you'll be ready to interpret what you see on an ECG reading.

Find the essential information you need to safely administer more than 400 intravenous drugs! For more than 45 years, Gahart's Intravenous Medications: A Handbook for Nurses and Health Professionals has been a trusted resource for comprehensive drug coverage, unparalleled accuracy, and an intuitive quick-access format. In addition to updated drug interactions, precautions, alerts, and patient teaching instructions for all existing IV drugs, the 2022 edition includes approximately 10 new monographs of the most recent IV drugs to be approved by the FDA. Administering intravenous drugs is a critical task - inaccurate or out-of-date information is not an option. Known as the #1 IV drug handbook on the market, and with its history of impeccable accuracy, Gahart's annual publication gives you the extra confidence and guidance you need to safely and effectively treat patients. Monographs on more than 400 IV drugs offer an impressive breadth of coverage that goes well beyond any comparable drug reference. Updated annual publication prevents you from referencing outdated information.

For new graduates and seasoned nurses alike, mastery of modern etiquette is critical to personal and professional success. This revised and expanded third edition of Etiquette & Communication Strategies for Nurses will help you increase your confidence, enhance your reputation, and focus your career aspirations.

This essential textbook on dementia care introduces the knowledge that nurses need, including the evidence base for practice and the guidance to transfer this newly acquired knowledge into everyday practice. Each of the 25 chapters are written by experts in the field of dementia care and are grounded in thoroughly researched, up-to-date evidence, have a direct bearing to nurse practice, and use case studies to give examples of application of the evidence to practice.

This quick-access clinical reference for nurses in adult health settings addresses the most prevalent and complex management challenges in caring for people with dementia.

Delivers the "big picture" from pre-op through extended recovery in quick-access format This concise clinical guide provides nurses who care for cardiac patients with speedy access to information and guidelines they need to know and use daily.

This newly updated, quick-access guide for critical care nurses covers the most common admitting diagnoses and reviews their causes, signs and symptoms, and interventions. Critical care nursing requires astute assessment, adept communication, and the ability to multitask, as well as a high degree of adaptability. In the ICU, patient status and plan of care change constantly, presenting multifaceted problems for nurses and healthcare providers. This authoritative resource, with bulleted, bite-sized content, provides information to the busy ICU nurse in a heartbeat. Fast Facts for the Critical Care Nurse, Second Edition, has been updated with the most current evidence-based guidelines and standards.

This bestselling resource has successfully prepared thousands of ER nurses to provide safe, effective, and high-quality care to their patients. This new edition is updated with guidelines from the American Heart Association, Neonatal Resuscitation Program, American Stroke Association, Emergency Nursing Pediatric Course, and Trauma Nurse Core Course.

Provides comprehensive, current information for addressing the physical, psychological, and spiritual needs of hospice patients and their families.

Written for novice neonatal nurses and those new to the NICU, this concise, easy-to-use resource delivers all the essentials of daily practice for the care of neonates and their families. Families experience dramatic transformations as roles develop and change during the newborn period. Throughout it all, they rely on the nurse's expertise, support, and encouragement to learn to care for their child and meet the newborn's most basic needs.Fast Facts for the Neonatal Nurse, Second Edition begins with a streamlined yet comprehensive review of normal newborn characteristics. With this foundation, chapters walk through a variety of common and uncommon newborn physiological changes to enable the neonatal nurse to detect any possible complications that warrant additional assessment.

The second edition of this pocket-sized resource for radiology nurses continues to demystify complex procedures by providing concise yet comprehensive information on the basics of radiology. As the complexity of healthcare grows, so too does imaging ability. Different modalities, technologies, and skills levels must all work in harmony to provide precision images. Radiology nurses must be proactive, patient-focused, and able to work with a diverse team of individuals to care for the widest range of patients. Describing essential procedures and protocols in quick access style, Fast Facts for the Radiology Nurse, Second Edition covers over 50 different Interventional Radiology procedures.

For undergraduate/graduate-level courses in Nursing Issues, Nursing Theory, Nursing Ethics and Nursing Service. This presentation of clinical judgement, caring practices, and collaborative practice provides ideas and images that students can draw upon in their interactions with others and in their interpretation of what nurses do. It includes many clear, colorful examples and describes the five stages of skill acquisition, the nature of clinical judgement and experiential learning and the seven major domains of nursing practice. The narrative method captures content and contextual issues that are often missed by formal models of nursing knowledge.

The essential information you need to safely administer more than 400 intravenous drugs. This new 37th edition includes more than a dozen new monographs of the most recent IV drugs to be approved by the FDA. Administering intravenous drugs is a critical task - inaccurate or out-of-date information is not an option. Proven, clinically optimized format keeps all dosage information for each drug on either a single page or a two-page spread to prevent hand contamination by having to turn a page. Life stage dosage variances are highlighted for geriatric, pediatric, infant, and neonatal patients. Updates on drug interactions, precautions, alerts, and more have been made throughout the guide to reflect all changes to existing medications.

Focusing on the content that students need to know for effective practice, this text offers evidence-based coverage of the aging process, factors contributing to healthy aging, and unique aspects of disease presentation and management in older adults.Content is logically organized in five units that provide a concise yet comprehensive overview of the aging process and guide students through the complexities of gerontological care. The tenth edition retains the text's acclaimed holistic approach through insightful coverage of the psychosocial, legal, ethical, and spiritual elements of patient care, with updated content throughout to help students meet the challenges of a changing healthcare environment and an increasingly diverse population.

This fully updated 3rd Edition, shows you how to use health assessments skills-with humor, great visuals, and real-life scenarios. Hundreds of colorful drawings, diagrams, and photos support easy-to-follow, expert nursing instruction on the many skills needed for physical exams and assessments of every body system, from head to toe. Fulfill the requirements of student nursing using this top-level direction on performing solid, accurate health assessments. This edition includes content on geriatric care from the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-4 and DSM-5), simple-to-use and easy-to-follow guidance on all aspects of health assessment. Also within this text: anatomy and assessment processes for each body system or health issue, including skin, hair, and nails; eyes and ears; nose, mouth, throat, and neck; pregnancy, and the respiratory, cardiovascular, gastrointestinal, musculoskeletal, neurologic, and genitourinary systems, step-by-step guidance on examination skills with photos, diagrams, drawings, and descriptions and end-of-chapter quizzes--puzzles, riddles, and multiple-choice questions to help you retain essential information.

This HESI A2 study guide combines theory and practice questions so that students are fully prepared before writing the exam. While other guides only provide around 200 questions, this guide has 652 questions along with answer explanations. There are 2 full-length tests included so that test takers will have enough practice before attempting the real exam.

In the quest to lower compliance risks for mental and behavioral health providers, HIPAA Demystified presents a concise, comprehensive guide for providers in any mental health setting. This book applies to anyone responsible for HIPAA compliance, ranging from sole practitioners, to agencies, to larger mental health organizations, and mental health educators. Differences between traditional patient confidentiality and HIPAA privacy and security regulations are explained. HIPAA Demystified also addresses common questions mental health providers typically have about application of HIPAA to mobile devices (e.g. cell phones, laptops, flash drives), encryption requirements, social media, and Skype and other video transmissions.

An AJN Book of the Year Award Winner! Meet the ever-changing demands of providing quality nutritional care for patients across the lifespan. This popular text provides a strong foundation in the science of nutrition and a clear understanding of how to apply that knowledge in practice, recognizing the need for nurses to work with other healthcare professionals to ensure optimal nutrition in patient care.

Written for anyone diagnosed with type 2 diabetes (and for anyone who loves someone with diabetes), Managing Type 2 Diabetes For Dummies is an essential and easy-to-understand guide to understanding the effects of diabetes and knowing what steps to take to successfully manage this chronic illness. Under the direction of The American Diabetes Association, Managing Type 2 Diabetes For Dummies is filled with a wealth of expert advice and includes the most current information on recent medical advances for treatment. Prevent and manage the complications of the disease, combat diabetes-related anxiety and depression, and lead a healthy life with type 2 diabetes. By modifying your diet, consulting with your doctors, staying active, and understanding what medications are right for you, you will be on the path to a happier and healthier lifestyle.

This friendly guide's colorful images and helpful learning aids offer the latest in nursing interventions for prenatal care basics, including high-risk pregnancy, family planning, contraception and infertility, labor and birth, and postpartum care, presented in the enjoyable Incredibly Easy style. Offering practice questions written in NCLEX® exam format, this is the ideal support for nursing students and new nurses preparing for certification and the everyday challenges of the maternal-neonatal unit.

"Feeling anxious or unsure about medical-surgical nursing care? Get grounded in the latest best practices, with the freshly updated Medical-Surgical Nursing Made Incredibly Easy!®, 5th Edition. This colorful fully illustrated guide offers clear, concise descriptions of crucial medical-surgical nursing concepts and procedures, with learning aids that help you grasp skills and concepts easily, in an enjoyable Incredibly Easy style. From assessment and diagnostics to current evidence-based treatments and interventions, this is the perfect backup to class materials, helpful support for new nurses, and a handy refresher for experienced nurses. Be expertly guided into a solid foundation in medical-surgical care, with: NEW and updated statistics and guidelines on current medical-surgical nursing practice in a concise, quick-scan outline format The “need-to-know” basics, including the most common disorders medical-surgical nurses encounter..."--Amazon

This area of ethics covers a wide range of issues, from mental health to reproductive medicine, as well as including management issues such as resource allocation. This Very Short Introduction provides an invaluable tool with which to think about the ethical values that lie at the heart of medicine. This edition explores the ethical reasoning we can use to approach medical ethics, introducing the most important 'tools' of ethical reasoning, and discussing how argument, thought experiments, and intuition can be combined in the consideration of medical ethics.

Medical Terminology: An Illustrated Guide, Ninth Edition helps readers develop a fundamental knowledge of the medical terminology necessary for a career in any healthcare setting. The text opens with a general introduction to word parts and the human body as a whole, followed by an overview of diseases and treatments. Each subsequent chapter on the individual body systems begins with an illustrated overview of the system with definitions of key terms relevant to that system. Tables of word parts and exercises on using them follow. The sequence of the systems chapters follows the same order as that found in a tradition A&P courses.Turning to the abnormal, a section on diseases and treatments is included, followed by definitions of related key terms.

Feeling overwhelmed by medical terminology? Grab a lifeline: the newly updated Medical Terminology Made Incredibly Easy!®, 4th Edition offers clear and simple explanations of vital terms and their everyday use in nursing practice. Backed by humor and chock full of illustrations, this enjoyable text is the perfect backup to class materials and the ideal on-the-job refresher for experienced nurses and all healthcare professionals.

"By examining the principles underlying mobility decisions, articulating clinical reasoning processes, and applying current evidence and topics of clinical debate, we seek to equip practitioners to succeed in an evolving world of healthcare that will demand the highest levels of critical thinking and professional judgment"-- Provided by publisher.

Mosby's Medical Dictionary, 11th Edition includes more than 56,000 authoritative definitions along with 2,450 illustrations - that's twice the number of images found in other medical dictionaries. More than 56,000 entries offer detailed definitions, as well as the latest information on pathophysiology, treatment and interventions, and nursing care. More than 2,450 color photographs and line drawings demonstrate and explain complex conditions and abstract concepts. Color Atlas of Human Anatomy includes clearly labeled drawings for easy A&P reference. Convenient alphabetical organization makes it easy to find key terms and definitions. Detailed appendixes provide useful information on lab values, pharmacology and clinical calculations, NIC and NOC, infection control standards, and more that can be used throughout your healthcare career.

Mometrix Test Preparation's NCLEX PN 2021 and 2022 Exam Secrets Study Guide is the ideal prep solution for anyone who wants to pass their National Council Licensure Examination for Practical Nurses. The Mometrix test prep team has provided plenty of NCLEX practice test questions to prepare you for what to expect on the actual exam. Each answer is explained in depth, in order to make the principles and reasoning behind it crystal clear. Many concepts include links to online review videos where you can watch our instructors break down the topics so the material can be quickly grasped. Examples are worked step-by-step so you see exactly what to do.

Ackley's Nursing Diagnosis Handbook: An Evidence-Based Guide to Planning Care, 12th Edition Revised Reprint with 2021-2023 NANDA-I© Updates helps you select appropriate nursing diagnoses and write care plans with ease and confidence. This convenient handbook shows how to correlate nursing diagnoses with known information about clients on the basis of assessment findings, established medical or psychiatric diagnoses, and the current treatment plan. The book integrates NIC and NOC taxonomies, evidence-based nursing interventions, and adult, pediatric, geriatric, multicultural, home care, safety, and client/family teaching and discharge planning considerations to help you create unique, individualized care plans. Updated NIC/NOC, interventions, and rationales are provided for every care plan. Section I: Gender identity discussion includes information about the caregiver's responsibility. Section II covers bullying, gender dysphoria, medical marijuana, military families/personnel, opioid use/abuse, service animals, technology addiction, and veterans. Concept map creator is added.

This fifth edition has been revised to reflect the most current issues in healthcare ethics including new cases, laws, and policies. The text continues to be divided into three sections: Foundational Theories, Concepts and Professional Issues; Moving Into Ethics Across the Lifespan; and Ethics Related to Special Issues focused on specific populations and nursing roles. The text includes legal features sections in most chapters, an expanded appendix of case studies with suggestions for discussion, and ethical reflections questions in each chapter. This new edition will also include an appendix focused on simulation suggestions, heavier coverage of ethics and terrorism, and stronger coverage of immigration and the importance of remaining unbiased a healthcare provider.

This practical pocket guide focuses on what you need to know to support your patients' health and comfort. It looks at: The anatomy and physiology of the gastrointestinal system and renal system, elimination and associated skills, catheterization, nutrition, hydration and fluid balance. This competency-based text covers relevant key concepts, anatomy and physiology, lifespan matters, assessment and nursing skills. To support your learning, it also includes learning outcomes, concept map summaries, activities, questions and scenarios with sample answers, and critical reflection thinking points.

Nutrition Essentials for Nursing Practice, 9th Edition gives nursing students the understanding of nutrition theory and application to ensure effective client care across the life cycle and the health-illness continuum. Incorporating nutrition throughout the nursing care process, Susan Dudek's concise yet thorough text equips tomorrow's nurses with the latest evidence-based practices and recommendations to facilitate nutrition on the front lines of nursing practice, from assessment and nursing diagnoses to implementation and evaluation.

Nurses must deliver up-to-date, clinically effective, evidence-based care across a range of settings and develop nursing services to meet changing demands. This handbook will guide the reader systematically through the care of patients with a wide range of musculoskeletal problems. Each chapter contains the up to date evidence-based guidelines covering a continuum from birth to death, covering everything from emergency care, rehabilitation, discharge, and end of life care. It includes new topics such as pharmacological alternatives to blood transfusion, disability and enabling environments, hip articulations, and health promotion.

The purpose of this pharmacology book is to serve as a reference manual and a comprehensive study guide for medical, nursing, and paramedic students. The book has been divided into multiple units based on each body system. The key therapeutic drug classes and categories for each major system have been outlined in separate chapters. The most commonly prescribed drugs are described here, but the book does not cover all the drugs available today. For detailed descriptions of the latest drugs on the market, and less commonly prescribed drugs, the reader is referred to other detailed texts of pharmacology.

An easy-to-follow introduction to basic phlebotomy practice Phlebotomy Simplified is a step-by-step, practice-oriented approach to blood collection procedures for the beginning health care student. It can also serve as a practical reference guide for health care professionals responsible for blood and specimen collection in diverse settings, including hospitals, ambulatory clinics, home health care, and pediatric clinics. The 3rd edition has been reconfigured to make student learning objectives a more direct extension of the entry-level competencies of the National Accrediting Committee for Clinical Laboratory Sciences (NAACLS).

100+ quick and delicious diabetes-friendly recipes If you have diabetes, watching what you eat is one of the most important things you can do to stay healthy. With the help of the American Diabetes Association, Quick & Easy Diabetic Recipes For Dummies offers 100+ healthy, diabetes-friendly recipes and meal planning ideas-without sacrificing taste. Plus, Quick & Easy Diabetic Recipes For Dummies provides expert tips on the types of food you should keep stocked in your kitchen, advice on healthy cooking techniques, ways to lower fat and cholesterol, and most importantly, what to eat with diabetes. According to the World Health Organization, the number of adults worldwide affected by diabetes has quadrupled since 1980 to 422 million. Nearly one in 11 people in the United States now have diabetes or prediabetes, and unhealthy eating can worsen the condition and hinder efforts at better management. While those numbers are alarming, the good news is that you can cook and eat your way to better health-and this book makes it easy!

What is the evidence? How do you find it? How do you evaluate it? Put the evidence to work in your practice! Integrate today's best scientific knowledge into your clinical decision-making. Step by step, you'll learn to effectively evaluate and apply nursing research and to understand its potential impact on the quality of your patient care. Easy to read."Great book, easy to read, very good review of research for beginners, lots of information but goes over a lot, definitely a keeper!"--Online Reviewer

Now in its tenth edition, The Royal Marsden Manual of Clinical Nursing Procedures has been the definitive, market-leading guide to clinical nursing skills for over three decades. This internationally best-selling title sets the gold standard for nursing care; providing the procedures, rationale, and guidance required by qualified nurses to deliver clinically effective, patient-focused care with expertise and confidence. With over two-hundred detailed procedures, this comprehensive manual presents the evidence and underlying theory alongside full-color illustrations and photographs, and includes coverage of infection prevention and control, perioperative care, wound management, nutrition, diagnostic testing, discharge, medicines management, and much more.

The book includes a review of all nursing content areas, more than 4,500 NCLEX exam-style questions, detailed rationales, test-taking tips and strategies, and new Next-Generation NCLEX (NGN)-style questions. An Evolve website simulates the exam-taking experience with a choice of practice questions along with realistic practice tests. More than 4,500 practice questions are included in the book and on Evolve. Detailed rationales are provided for both correct and incorrect answer options. Alternate item format questions include multiple response, prioritizing, fill-in-the-blank, figure/chart, and video clips. Test-taking strategies provide useful hints for analyzing and uncovering correct answer options.

School Nursing: The Essential Reference provides comprehensive coverage of school nursing-from key foundational principles and best practices for the care and management of students to the future of school nursing practice. School Nursing: The Essential Reference provides evidence-based clinical protocols for the management of acute and chronic illnesses and issues confronted by the marginalized student. Sexual orientation and gender identity are explored, as are violence toward self and others, emergency and disaster preparedness, and the impact of COVID-19. This guide is useful not only for novice and experienced school nurses, but also for school-nursing students and those preparing for state or national certification exams.

Nurses are positioned on healthcare's front line, intimately connected to individuals, families, and communities. How can they leverage this position to work for the common good? In Toward a Better World, Mark Lazenby, a philosopher and a nurse, presents a plan of action. He argues that nurses advance the good society when they fulfill fundamental obligations. Promoting equality, peace and respect, providing assistance and safety, and safeguarding the health of our planet are among these obligations. By acting upon them, nurses become a force for social change in their communities. But through the collective power of more than 20 million nurses worldwide, nurses become a global force for making the world a better place--in the present and for the future.

Transcultural Nursing, 8th Edition shows you how to apply assessment and intervention strategies to individuals from a variety of different cultures. Based on a transcultural assessment model, this text helps you design culturally sensitive care with use of the six key aspects of cultural assessment: communication, time, space, social organization, environmental control, and biologic variations. The six key aspects of cultural assessment each receive a full chapter of coverage and reflect the shifting experiences of cultural groups in our society, allowing you to also apply the Transcultural Assessment Model to cultures not covered in the text. Discussions of spirituality throughout the text provide a holistic, integrated approach to culture, beliefs, and assessment. Written by nursing educators Joyce Newman Giger and Linda G. Haddad, Transcultural Nursing shows how an understanding of cultural variations and individual patient needs will help you provide safe and effective care.

Designed as both a text for the DNP curriculum and a practical resource for seasoned health professionals, this acclaimed book demonstrates the importance of an interprofessional approach to translating evidence into nursing and health care practice in both clinical and nonclinical environments. The third edition reflects the continuing evolution of translation frameworks by expanding the Methods and Process section and providing updated exemplars illustrating actual translation work in population health, specialty practice, and the health care delivery system. It incorporates important new information about legal and ethical issues, the institutional review process for quality improvement and research, and teamwork and building teams for translation. Reorganized for greater ease of use, this edition continues to deliver applicable theory and practical strategies to lead translation efforts and meet DNP core competency requirements. It also addresses the use of evidence to improve nursing education, discusses how to reduce the divide between researchers and policy makers, and describes the interprofessional collaborative within the complex health care environment. This edition supplies extensive lists of references, web links, and other resources to enhance learning.

Confidently plan individualized care for clients in acute care, extended care, and home care environments with Ulrich & Canale's Nursing Care Planning Guides: Prioritization, Delegation, and Clinical Reasoning, 8th Edition. This in-depth nursing care planning guide features 31 detailed nursing diagnosis care plans and 63 disease/disorder care plans that are keyed to specific expected outcomes and interventions. With updated content and the most recent NANDA-I(R) nursing diagnoses, NIC(R) interventions, and NOC(R) outcomes, it reflects the latest nursing taxonomies and evidence-treatment protocols.

When you are faced with an injury or sudden illness in a remote location, it is essential to know what to look for and what to do. This book provides information on how to handle common injuries and illnesses when medical care is an hour or more away. The Fifth Edition includes: coverage of the 2015 CPR and ECC Guidelines, first aid and emergency care for dogs, decision tables that provide a concise summary of what signs to look for and what treatment steps to take, skill sheets that offer step-by-step explanations and visual summaries, flowcharts that reinforce the decision-making process and appropriate procedures. This text is the official collaboration between the Wilderness Medical Society, the largest membership society in the world devoted to wilderness medical issues, and the American Academy of Orthopedic Surgeons.

Looking for an up-to-date, how-to, evidence-based wound care reference? The newly revised resource, offers the latest evidence, guidelines and information to assist the interprofessional skin and wound care team translate knowledge into practice. This guide offers the latest, skin and wound care research-backed insights on prevention and management. All chapters have been updated with the latest available research and educational enablers i.e., visual aids, mnemonics, tables boxes, diagrams. and charts to highlight key concepts.

The Mometrix CNA study guide is laid out in a logical and organized fashion so that one section naturally flows from the one preceding it. Because it's written with an eye for both technical accuracy and accessibility, you will not have to worry about getting lost in dense academic language. Any test prep guide is only as good as its practice questions and answer explanations, and that's another area where our guide stands out. The Mometrix test prep team has provided plenty of CNA practice test questions to prepare you for what to expect on the actual exam. Each answer is explained in depth, in order to make the principles and reasoning behind it crystal clear.

Written by Test Prep Books, this comprehensive study guide includes: Quick Overview; Test-Taking Strategies; Introduction Role of the Nursing Assistant; Promotion of Safety; Promotion of Function and Health of Residents; Basic Nursing Care Provided by the Nursing Assistant; Providing Specialized Care for Residents with Changes in Health; Practice Questions; Detailed Answer; Explanations. Each part of the test has a full review. This study guide covers everything likely to be on the test. Lots of CNA practice test questions are included. Miss one and want to know why? There are detailed answer explanations to help you avoid missing the same question a second time. Are you a bad test taker? Use your time wisely with the latest test-taking strategies.

Ascencia Test Prep's study guides and test preparation materials are developed by credentialed, industry professionals with years of experience in their respective fields. Every Ascencia book includes a comprehensive overview of the content knowledge that will be tested, along with practice questions for each section to enhance understanding. Full practice tests at the end of every book accurately reflect the exam, helping test takers determine if they are thoroughly prepared. Additionally, all Ascencia study materials offer exclusive tips from healthcare professionals to help readers thrive in their field beyond test day.