Skip to main content

Library OneSearch: Troubleshooting Bad Links

Your guide to using HTC's Library OneSearch tool.

Explore This Guide

Use the tabs above for information on the following:

Ask a Librarian

Got a Question? Need Research Help?

 Man and stack of papers clipart.

Call or email the library!

Jennie Simning (Librarian): 952-995-1533 or Send Email
Brooklyn Park Campus Library: 763-488-2929
Eden Prairie Campus Library: 952-995-1650

Troubleshooting Bad Full Text Links

What to Do When You Get a Bad Full Text Linkarrow pointing down clipart

Occassionaly when you click a Get Full Text links from the Articles & More column, you will get an error messasge instead of being linked to the article.

Scroll down for options you can try to track these articles downs:

  • Missing Article Helper Window
  • Journal Finder
  • Article Look-Up Form
  • Interlibrary Loan
  • Reporting Bad Links

Missing Article Helper Window

Missing Article Helper Window

If you click the Get Full Text link from the Articles & More column, a database pop-up window appears with access to your full-text article.

However, occassionally you will see an error message instead or you are not given a database link directly to your article.  If this happens, look for the "Helper Window" at the top of the pop-up window.  It will display a message saying, "Missing Article?  Click here to see if the article is available elsewhere."  

Missing article helper window with link to journal finder.

Click the "Click Here..." link and the Helper Window will run a search across all of our databases to see if the article is available in a different database.  

If the article is available in another database, you will receive several links that could lead you to the article (see screenshot and descriptions below):

Missing Article Helper Window: Article, journal, and database links

The ARTICLE link that is displayed should take you directly to the article within the database.  If you do not see this link or if this link is also bad, try another ARTICLE link from the list or try the JOURNAL link.

The JOURNAL link will take you to an information page about the journal, including the Full Text date range that is available. Using the Full Text date range, verify the publication date of the article you want is within the listed range.  

If the article is within the date range - look for a list of publication dates (years, months, etc) to click and begin drilling down by date, volume, and issue number to the correct article.

The DATABASE link (shown as the name of the database) will take you to the main database page where you can conduct a general keyword search for your article within the database.

Journal Finder

Using the Journal Finder

If the Missing Article Helper Window does not work for you, try using the Journal Finder to locate the Journal that published the article - then drill down to the full text article itself.

You can access the Journal Finder from the Help tab of the Library website.  On the Help tab, look under the Databases & Journals heading to find the Journal Finder link.

You can also link directly to the Journal Finder here: http://my4yt8sw9g.search.serialssolutions.com/.

Link to Journal Finder under Library Help tab.

Within the Journal Finder, use the "Find e-journals by title or ISSN" section to search for the title of the JOURNAL in which your article was published (i.e. Advanced Studies in Nursing or Journal of Applied Economics).  

PLEASE NOTE: Typos matter!!  So make sure your journal title is spelled correctly.

Once you have found the journal, verify the publication date of your article is within the full-text date range listed.  If it is, click the linked database name.

Search within Journal Finder, full text date range highlighted

On the Journal Information page within the database, look for a list of individual dates (typically years) you can click on to begin drilling down by year, volume, and issue number to track down the correct article.

Dates to drill down from journal information page to volume/issue.

Article Look-Up Form

Using the Article Look-Up Form

If the Missing Article Helper Window does not work for you, try using the Article Look-Up form to locate the article.

You can access the Article Look-Up form from the Help tab of the Library website.  On the Help tab, look under the Databases & Journals heading to find the Article Look-up form.

You can also link directly to the Article Look-Up form here: http://my4yt8sw9g.search.serialssolutions.com/?SS_Page=refiner&SS_RefinerEditable=yes.

Article Look up link on Help tab of library website

On the form, try to include as much information as you can about the article - article title, author name, journal title, volume /issue numbers, date, etc. At the very least you need to enter a Journal Title, ISSN or DOI.

When you have entered the article information, click the Look Up button and see if the form is able to track down your article for you.

Blank article lookup form

Request an Item Using Interlibrary Loan

Requesting an Item Using Interlibrary Loan

If you have tried the options above and are still unable to obtain the article you would like, it's certainly possible that we do not carry it in full text. However, you can interlibrary loan the article for free from another library that does have it!

Interlibrary loans are FREE!  Articles are scanned and emailed to you in approximately 3-5 business days.


To Submit an Interlibrary Loan Request via the Missing Article Helper Window:

If you have already been using the Article Helper Window to track down your article, there is an Interlibrary Loan link that will take you to a form that is pre-filled with all of your article information.

To find the link to this pre-filled form, click the "Missing Article? Click here to see if the article is available elsewhere." link at the top of your article pop-up window (see Missing Article Helper Window at the top of this page for screenshot).

On the next screen, look under the More Full Text Options section for 1. Use Library Services: Request materical from another library (interlibrary loan).  Click the Submit Article Request link.

       Interlibrary Loan link in OneSearch Missing Article window.

You will be prompted for a login.  You can login with your StarID and password OR the 14-digit barcode number listed on the back of your student ID card, if your library barcode has been activated.

Login for Interlibrary Loan.  Use StarID and password.

Once logged in, you will see the Interlibrary Loan form has been pre-populated with your article information.  Simply click the "Agree" checkbox and click the Submit Request button.  You should receive your Interlibrary Loan within 3-5 business days.

 

To Submit an Interlibrary Loan Request from a Blank Form:

You may also wish to submit an Interlibrary Loan Request from a blank form.  To do this, you will need to login to your library account.  You can get to your library account via any OneSearch screen (look for the My Account tab in the top corner or any OneSearch window).

You can also login to your library account from this link: https://htc.mplus.mnpals.net/vufind/MyResearch/Home.

Link to Library Account login from OneSearch

Login with your StarID and password OR the 14-digit barcode number listed on the back of your student ID card, if your library barcode has been activated (see screenshot from above section).

Once logged in, look for the Create an ILL Request links on the right side of the screen.  Select either Book Request or Article Request.  These links will open either a blank book request form or a blank article request form.

Book Request and Article Request - blank Interlibrary Loan forms.

Within the form, fill out all the information you can about the book or article you want, then click the Submit Request button.

Once submitted, you will get a confirmation message the your request was registered.  You can expect print books to arrive in 7-10 business days and electronic articles will be emailed to you in 3-5 business days.

Reporting Bad Links

Reporting Bad Links

In order for us to fix bad links, we have to know about them. If you come across a bad link to a book or article, please email the details to Jennie Simning at jennie.simning@hennepintech.edu

Please provide as much information as possible.  Specfically, we would like to know:

  • Title of the book or article
  • Journal or Newspaper title (that published the article)
  • Date
  • Author
  • Were you able to track down the article using any of the troubleshooting steps on this page?