Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

How to Search the Library

Use this guide to learn how to find books and articles on the library website.

About Article Tools

lightbulb imageAll research databases provide article tools that allow the user to print, email, cite, or link the article (and more!)

When viewing an article in a database, look for a "Tools" area or set of icons with these features.

Article Tools for Printing, Emailing, Citing, and Linking Articles

Article Tools for Printing, Emailing, Citing, and Linking Articles 

When viewing an article in a database, look for a "Tools" area or set of icons that will help you print, email, cite, or link your article (and more!)

 

PRINTING

To print an article you should use the print option available when you are viewing the full-text of the article. 

In EBSCO databases such as Academic Search Premier, first click the PDF or HTML Full Text icons, then use the print option within the view window.

PDF Printing in CINAHL

Article view options in CINAHL

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

In Gale databases such as Academic OneFile (Gale), the full text is often displayed after clicking the article title in the search results.  Simply look for the Print icon in the top left corner of the screen to print the full article.

Print Icon in Gale database

 

EMAILING

Emailing a full text article to yourself is a great way to gather articles quickly to read later.  You can also send the citation of the article as part of the email, which will save you time when you are creating the reference list for your paper.

(NOTE: Gale databases will ONLY send MLA citations in emails.  With EBSCO databases you can select either the APA or MLA version of the citation).

 

Email icon in Academic Search PremierIn EBSCO databases like Academic Search Premier, click the title of the article from the search results.  The Email icon is in the Tools menu on the left of the article record page. 

You can email the article to any email address you like.  To send the citation along with the email, you must select either APA or MLA in the Citation Format drop-down menu.

Email form in Academic Search Premier highlighting the Citation Format drop down menu.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

In Gale databases like Academic OneFile (Gale), click the title of the article from the search results. The Send To icon is in the top left corner of the screen. 

Send To icon in Gale database

 You can email the article to any email address you like.  Gale only sends the MLA formatted citation along with the email.  To obtain the APA citation, you must copy it using the Cite icon.  See the Citing section below for more information.

Email form in Gale databases

 

CITING

Most research databases will provide automatically formatted citations for articles.  APA and MLA are the most common formats requested by Hennepin Tech instructors. 

Once you click on an article title in the search results, look for a Cite icon in any Tools area.

After clicking the Cite icon, use the drop-down menu to choose either APA or MLA.  Copy and paste the citation to a place where you can keep track of it until needed for your paper or reference list.

In EBSCO databases, like Academic Search Premier:                 In Gale databases, like Academic OneFile (Gale):

Cite icon in Academic Search PremierCite icon in Academic OneFile (Gale)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
LINKING

Articles in research databases typically have a persistent (non-changing) link that you can copy or share.  This link is different than the link that appears in the browser URL bar!

You can typically find the link within the Tools area after you click the title of the article from the search results. In EBSCO databases, it is listed as Permalink.  In Gale Databases, it is listed as Get Link.

 In EBSCO databases, like Academic Search Premier:                 In Gale databases, like Academic OneFile (Gale):

Link (permalink) icon in Academic Search PremierLink (Get Link) icon in Academic OneFile (Gale)