Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

How to Search the Library

Use this guide to learn how to find books and articles on the library website.

Viewing Articles

Viewing Full-Text Articles

To view a full-text article, look for the Full-Text links or icons.  They may say HTML Full Text, PDF Full Text, or just Full Text.  Sometimes a full-text link is not listed and you can simply click the title of the article to view the full text.

CheckmarkPDF Full Text is the exact scan of the article as it appears in print (maintains print layout of article, images, and graphs,etc).

HTML Full Text is the web text version of the article.  The full article can be read, but the layout is not the same is in print and images may not be in their original location.

 

Links to full text articles may appear either:

  1.  Below the article information on the search results page
  2.  To the right of the article information on the article record page. (The article record page is what you see after you click the article title from the search results).
 
Full Text Links in Academic Search Premier

Within Search Results:                                                                         On the article record page:

             

 

Full Text Links in Academic OneFile (Gale)

There will not be a full text link if an full text article is available in a Gale database.  Instead, Gale databases display a "Citation Only" or "Abstract Only" message if an article is NOT available in full text.  For all articles that do not say "Citation Only" or "Abstract Only," click the article title to view the article.         

    Example of Full Text and Citation Only links in Gale databases

If Articles are Not Available in Full Text

If Articles are Not Available in Full Text

If the article you would like to view is not available in full text, try these options:

 

 1. Click the Check For Full Text link that should display underneath the article information in the search results. 

If your article is available in another database, you will be taken directly to the article or given a list of databases that have the article from which you can choose.

Check for Full Text link in Academic Search Premier:

Check for Full Text link in Academic Search Premier

Check for Full Text link in Academic OneFile (Gale):

Check for Full Text link in Academic OneFile (Gale)

 

2. If your article is not available in another HTC library database, click the Request via Interlibrary Loan link that should display underneath the article information in the search results. 

This will open a Library OneSearch window with a request for you to Sign In using your Star ID and password.   (Note: In Gale databases, clicking the Check for Full Text link will automatically direct you to the Library OneSearch Sign In request.)

Request via Interlibrary Loan link in Academic Search Premier

Interlibrary Loan sign in page in OneSearch

Once signed in, click Request via Interlibrary Loan within OneSearch. 

Request via Interlibrary Loan link in OneSearch

You will be taken to a request form which has been pre-filled with your article information.

Select Digital as the format option to have a link to download the full text article emailed to your Hennepin Tech email address.  This will take 3-5 business days.  Click Send Request.  

Pre-filled Interlibrary Loan form in OneSearch

You must also agree to the copyright statement that will appear before your request will be processed.

Interlibrary Loan Copyright statement in OneSearch

Once submitted, your request will be sent to another library which has a full text version of the article.  If a digital copy of the article is requested, an email containing a link to download the article will be sent to your Hennepin Tech email address in approximately 3-5 business days. 

The link to download the article will expire 7 days after the email is sent to you.  Download the article right away so you do not have to resend your request.