Skip to main content

APA Citation Help

Use this guide to assist with your APA citations.

Citing Articles in EBSCO databases

Automatic Citations from EBSCO Databases

To get an automatic citation for an article in any EBSCO database (i.e. Academic Search Premier, Masterfile Premier, etc.):

1. Click on an article title from your search results page. 

2. Look for a toolbar (or list of icons) that runs down the right side of the article record screen.

3. Click CITE (gold piece of paper) from the toolbar options.

4. A pop-up window with several citation formats will appear.  Find the APA citation style.

APA formatted citation in EBSCO

Emailing Automatic Citations in EBSCO Databases

EMAILING APA Citations

Emailing a full text article to yourself is a great way to gather articles quickly to read later.  You can also send the citation of the article as part of the email, which will save you time when you are creating the reference list for your paper.

With EBSCO databases you can select either the APA or MLA version of the citation. Gale databases ONLY send MLA citations in emails.  

 

Email icon in Academic Search PremierIn EBSCO databases like Academic Search Premier, click the title of the article from the search results.  The Email icon is in the Tools menu on the left of the article record page. 

You can email the article and citation to any email address you like.  To send the citation along with the email, you must select either APA or MLA in the Citation Format drop-down menu.

Email form in Academic Search Premier highlighting the Citation Format drop down menu.