LibGuides: Electronics Technology Research Guide: Reference Resources

Reference Databases

The library subscribes to several online reference databases full of general and subject-specific reference sources (i.e. encyclopedias, dictionaries, and handbooks).

Credo Reference
General Purpose reference collection of encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, atlases, and guides from a wide variety of academic fields, including Agriculture, Architecture, Allied Health, Automation, Biology, Business, Child Development, Communication, Culinary Science, Dentistry, Education, Engineering, History, Language Arts, Literature, Nursing, Social Science, and many more.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
General Purpose collection of encyclopedias in topics including Business, History, Law, Literature, Medicine, Music, Sciences, Social Sciences, and Technology. A great place to start research.
Issues & Controversies
Current Event reference database that provides in-depth overviews of current controversial issues and problems in contemporary society. A great place to identify topics for Writing & Research.
Britannica Academic Edition
General Purpose Reference collection of encyclopedias, dictionaries, biographies, and primary sources relevant to a wide variety of academic fields.
Points of View Reference Center
Current Event reference database providing overviews and pro-con perspectives on a wide variety of issues, controversies, and social problems in contemporary society. A great place to get topic ideas for Writing & Research.
Science Reference Center
Science reference collection of encyclopedias, dictionaries, guides, and handbooks covering biology, chemistry, earth & space science, environmental science, health & medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science & society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology and wildlife.

Reference Resources FAQ

What are reference resources?

Reference resources are typically encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, handbooks, and other general information sources covering the "basics" of a topic. Reference resources can be general (i.e. Encyclopedia Britannica) or subject-specific (i.e. Encyclopedia of Social Issues).

Why use reference resources?

Get research topic ideas
Get ideas for narrowing your topic from broad to focused
Very quickly acquaint yourself with ideas, people, issues and events associated with your topic
Identify search terms to use for further library searching
Define terms and jargon associated with your topic
Identify key resources on your topic (many reference resources will include links to useful sources you can use in your essay)

Electronics Technology Research Guide

Ask the Librarian

Call or email the library!

Adam Bezdicek (Librarian): 763-488-2634 or Send Email

Brooklyn Park Campus Library: 763-488-2929

Eden Prairie Campus Library: 952-995-1650

Reference Databases

Reference Resources FAQ