Newspaper & Magazine Articles - ENGL 1100 - Writing & Research - LibGuides at Hennepin Technical College

Newspaper and Magazine Databases

Newspaper Databases

US Newsstream (ProQuest)
US News collection of thousands of newspapers from around the country. Includes the Star Tribune, the St. Paul Pioneer Press, and other regional Minnesota Newspapers, in addition to national publications like the Wall Street Journal, the New York Times, the LA Times, and the Washington Post.
New York Times Online
Get full access to the New York Times. If you are a new user use this link to create a free account. You must use your Hennepin Tech email address to sign up. Your account is good for one year, then will need to be renewed. Once registered, you may access the New York Times from any web enabled device using your email and password.

See this guide for detailed instructions on how to register: https://hennepintech.libguides.com/NYTimes

NOTE: If you attempt to open this link in Chrome you may get a security message. Click "Ignore" to proceed to sign-up. If you still have issues, try using Microsoft Edge.
Regional Newspaper Source
Regional collection of US newspapers, including Minnesota newspapers such as Duluth News Tribune, Bemidji Pioneer, Lake Country News, Cloquet Pine Journal, Rochester Post-Bulletin, Worthington Daily Globe, as well as papers from Wisconsin.
Star Tribune (1986 to Current) - text only
The Minneapolis Star Tribune (1986 - Present).

Magazine Databases

MasterFile Complete
General Purpose collection of popular magazines and trade journals covering topics from contemporary society, academic fields, trades, and vocations.

Newspaper and Magazine FAQ

What types of information do newspapers and magazines contain?

Factual accounts of events as they happened
Opinion and analysis of current events, issues, and problems in politics and society
Reviews of movies, music, books, theater, and restaurants
Local and regional information

Why cite newspapers and magazines?

To provide factual accounts of specific events
To provide real life examples of a specific issue or problem
To support your argument with other similar arguments made by experts

Are newspapers and magazines peer-reviewed?

No. If your instructor requires that you use peer-reviewed journal articles for your assignment, newspapers and magazines will not count. However, they are still valuable resources that can be cited in addition to peer-reviewed journal articles.

ENGL 1100 - Writing & Research

Ask the Librarian

Call or email the library!

Adam Bezdicek (Librarian): 763-488-2634 or Send Email

Brooklyn Park Campus Library: 763-488-2929

Eden Prairie Campus Library: 952-995-1650

Newspaper and Magazine Databases

Newspaper and Magazine FAQ