Skip to main content

Library OneSearch: Frequently Asked Questions

Your guide to using HTC's Library OneSearch tool.

Explore This Guide

Use the tabs above for information on the following:

Ask a Librarian

Got a Question? Need Research Help?

 Man and stack of papers clipart.

Call or email the library!

Jennie Simning (Librarian): 952-995-1533 or Send Email
Brooklyn Park Campus Library: 763-488-2929
Eden Prairie Campus Library: 952-995-1650

Library OneSearch FAQs

OneSearch Frequently Asked Questions

What is OneSearch?

OneSearch is a search engine that provides a single starting point to find and access a majority of the Hennepin Tech Library resources - including books, ebooks, journal articles, newpaper articles, videos and more.

Enter your keywords into the single search box on the Library Homepage to begin finding resources.  For more specific information, see the following tabs in this guide: Basic Search and Beyond the Basics.

How is OneSearch different from Google?

OneSearch and Google are both search engines that let you quickly search across a massive index of information.  They both allow you to cast a wide net, explore potential sources of information, and rank results based on proprietary algorithms unknown to the public.

However, OneSearch is tied to the HTC Libraries and is comprised entirely of books, ebooks, articles, and other content that has been purchased for research purposes; while Google consists primarily of websites with varying levels of credibility and reliability.

How is OneSearch different from searching individual library databases?

While OneSearch searches across the majority of all library databases at once, individual library databases search a smaller, often more specific set of resources.  Each method has its pros and cons, but remember that if you need specific kinds of information (business research, nursing research,etc.) if may be better to start your research in a subject databases recommended for your program area.  

Visit the Find a Database tab of the library website for a listing of recommended databases by program.

See the two questions below on When should I use OneSearch? and When should I avoid using OneSearch? for more information.

When should I use OneSearch?

It might be a good idea to use OneSearch if you are:

    • First starting your research.
    • Gathering ideas of background information on your topic.
    • Have experienced difficulty finding sources you need in other databases.
    • An alternative to Google - easy searching with more credible results.

When should I avoid using OneSearch?

It is best to avoid using OneSearch is you have very specific research needs such as:

    • Specific nursing or medical-related research (use recommended nursing databases instead).
    • Specific business research, such as country, company, or industry reports (use Business Source Premier instead).
    • You want to use the advanced searching features within a specific database.
    • You want to use highly controlled vocabularly or search terms.
    • Searching for historical newspaper articles.

How do I login from off-campus?

If you are searching from off-campus, you will automatically be prompted to login once you click on a Full Text link (the link that leaves OneSearch to take you to the actual ebook or article).  You can login with your StarID and password or with your activated library barcode (on the back of your student ID card) and last name.

I couldn't find any relevant resources.  What should I do?

If you couldn't find what you were looking for in OneSearch, you may need to search in one of the individual, program-specific databases to find relevant resources. Visit the Find a Database tab of the library website for a listing of recommended databases by program.

If you would like some assistance searching, please visit the library or  contact us through our Ask the Library page.

The record for an article/ebook said it was Full Text Online, but I received an error message when I clicked on it.  What should I do?

If you are off-campus you should expect to see an HTC login screen when you click to see the full text of an article.  Login with your StarID and password.

If you are off-campus and have already logged in, there are several options you can try. Please visit the Troubleshooting Bad Links tab of this guide for step-by-step troubleshooting instructions.

You can always feel free to visit or contact the library for assistance.  Visit our Ask the Library page for contact information.

How do I locate a journal title I want to browse?

The quickest way to locate a journal you want to browse is using the Journal Finder linked on the library homepage.  Instructions on using the Journal Finder can be found on the Troubleshooting Bad Links tab.

To search within a specific journal, you can use the Advanced Articles & More search.  Enter the title of the journal in one search box, then select Journal Title from the field search drop-down menu.  Enter any keywords related to your topic in the second search box, and leave the field search drop-down menu as All Fields. See the Beyond the Basics tab for screenshots and more information on using the Advanced Search.

All I want to find are books.  How can I do this?

On your OneSearch search results page, click the Books & More heading to display on book and ebook results.  See the Basic Search and Beyond the Basics tabs for more information on finding books.

How do the search refinements work?

Search refinements help to narrow and focus or refine your search to find more specific results.  Any search refinements in OneSearch are found in the one-column view when you are looking at only Books & More or only Articles & More.  They are listed down the right side of the screen.

If you would like to keep any of the search refinements you have set, make sure to check the Retain my current filters checkbox below the search box before typing in new keywords.

Retain my current filters search refinements box.

For more detailed information on what search refinements are available, please visit the Basic Search tab.

Can I get automatic citations for the resources I find in OneSearch?

Within OneSearch you can only get automatic citations for items in the Books & More column. Click the title of any resource using the Books & More column, then look for a link that says Cite This. 

Cite This link for Books & More resources

For resources listed under the Articles & More column, you must first link to the article within the individual library database - then look for an icon or link that says Cite or Citation to find the automatic citation.

PLEASE NOTE: Automatic citations may contain mistakes.  They are generally 85% correct, but it is your responsibility to doublecheck the accuracy.  The Learning Resource Center or Writing Center can provide citation help.

I sometimes see Recommendations at the top of my search results.  What do they mean?

Based on the keywords you have entered in the search box, OneSearch my recommend specialized databases where you can find more information on your topic.  Visit these resources by clicking on the database name at the top of the page or find them through our Find a Database page.

Can I email or text records from OneSearch?

Yes!  You can email or text a book or article record to yourself or someone else by using the Email This or Text This links. You will see these links once you click on a book or article title from the results list. 

Text and Email record options in OneSearch.

Can I search OneSearch with my mobile phone?

You can search Books and Ebooks on your mobile device using this link: https://mplus.mnpals.net/vufind/?ui=mobile

However, the functionality for searching Articles on mobile devices is not yet available.