Teaching & Learning Resources

This is a detailed yet practical guide to planning, developing, and evaluating nursing curricula and educational programs. It provides a comprehensive and critical perspective on the totality of variables impacting curricular decisions... This book provides readers with a comprehensive overview of curriculum development, redesign, and evaluation processes and exposes them to the variables impacting curricular decisions.

Named a 2013 Doody's Essential Purchase!'This book should be required reading for all educators! It is necessary for educators to keep pace with the changing dynamics of learners and this book provides insights into how to achieve this goal.'--Doody's Medical ReviewsPraise for the Third Edition: ìWithout question, this book should be on every nurse educator's bookshelf.î--Nursing Education PerspectivesThe ìgold standardî for evaluation and testing in nursing education, this revision helps educators measure and evaluate the level of learning that their students have achieved and presents fundamental concepts of what constitutes reliable tools and rubrics for measuring studentsí classroom and clinical performance. It describes how to develop a test blueprint and to assemble, administer, write, and score all types of tests and test questions, and analyze tests and test performance for both classroom and clinical evaluation.

Helps educators to design assignments and rigorous rubrics that truly measure student learning objectivesThe ability of students to pass an examination does not necessarily reflect or guarantee their ability to apply knowledge in practice, nor are traditional exams a sufficient means to evaluate all learning objectives.

This new addition to the Fast Facts series is a pithy guide for novice nurse educators to the development, revision, and evaluation of programs and curricula that meet the standard requirements of the National Council of State Boards of Nursing, the NLNAC, and CCNE. Applying the concepts and principles of Systems Theory, the guide moves through the development process to include evaluation procedures where decisions are based on data. It addresses the common definitions of curriculum, how to design a curriculum, and how to design courses in accordance with the organizing elements of the program.

This guide and resource will give you all the direction and resources you need to perform in the role of a medical-surgical clinical instructorÖInstructors will discover this book takes the work out of working in the clinical area.îThis is the first comprehensive resource for clinical medical-surgical nursing instructors responsible for guiding students through their entire clinical rotation. Filling a huge gap in resources for instructors required to teach this course, it contains everything the new or adjunct instructor needs to teach expertly and confidently.

Many of today's learning environments are dominated by technology or procedure-driven approaches that leave learners feeling alone and disconnected. The authors of Centring Human Connections in the Education of Health Professionals argue that educational processes in the health disciplines should model, integrate, and celebrate human connections because it is these connections that will foster the development of competent and caring health professionals. Centring Human Connections in the Education of Health Professionals equips educators working in clinical, classroom, and online settings with a variety of teaching strategies that facilitate essential human connections. Included is an overview of the educational theory that grounds the authors'thinking, enabling the educators who employ the strategies included in the book to assess their fit within curriculum requirements and personal teaching philosophies and understand how and why they work.

Named a 2013 Doody's Core Title and Essential Purchase! Praise for the Third Edition:'I recommend this book as an introduction to new educators involved in clinical teaching.'-Journal for Nurses in Staff Development The fourth edition of this highly acclaimed text continues to provide a comprehensive framework for planning, guiding, and evaluating learning activities for graduate and undergraduate nursing students in numerous clinical settings. A respected resource for clinical faculty, it addresses the distinct requirements of clinical learning as opposed to classroom learning and provides proven strategies to maximize clinical education.

This highly anticipated, fully revised second edition revisits and augments the award-winning Creating & Sustaining Civility in Nursing Education. In this comprehensive new edition, author Cynthia Clark explores the problem of incivility within nursing academe and provides practical solutions that range from ready-to-use teaching tools to principles for broad-based institutional change. She further explores the costs and consequences of incivility, its link to stress, ways to identify the problem, and how to craft a vision for change – including bridging the gap between nursing education and practice. Rather than dwell on the negative, this book focuses on solutions, including role-modeling and mentoring, stress management, and positive learning environments. Nurse educators at all levels will appreciate the variety of evidence-based strategies that faculty – and students – can implement to promote and maintain civility and respect in the education setting, including online learning.

Be more creative in any setting. Here are nearly 200 practical, relevant, and easy-to-implement teaching strategies that will help engage your students in any classroom setting. Dr. Judith Herrman offers techniques gathered over many years from her own teaching experiences that are adaptable to personal teaching content, meet the needs of a variety of learning styles, and demonstrate innovation in nursing education.

Critical thinking and writing is central to effective nursing practice. Written specifically for nursing students, this book offers practical guidance on what it means to think critically as a nurse and how to apply this to study and practice. From critically reviewing literature for assessments to evaluating evidence to support decision-making in practice, the book provides a unique framework for developing essential critical skills.

Written by luminaries in the field of nursing education, this is the only current and comprehensive compendium of important topics in nursing education. It contains more than 175 detailed entries, and will be a valuable reference text for doctoral- and master's-level nursing students, nursing faculty, university and hospital libraries worldwide, and hospital nursing departments and schools. The listing of entries has been carefully culled from recent nursing literature and six volumes of the Annual Review of Nursing Education. Each entry follows a standard template that includes definition, application in nursing education, a synopsis including a brief summary of what is in the literature on the topic, and a concluding summary discussing future development in nursing education. Listings are alphabetized for easy access, and are accompanied by a comprehensive reference list.

This is a comprehensive resource for anyone interested in integrating gaming and simulation into a course or the entire curricula. It presents the theory and the associated practical application. The extensive reference list and resource/product list encourage and support readers with implementation.'Score: 98, 5 Stars.--Doody's Medical Reviews'Game-Based Teaching and Simulation in Nursing and Healthcare is a timely, exhaustive look at how emerging technologies are transforming clinical education. Anyone looking for firsthand, direct account of how game-based learning technologies are reshaping clinical practice needs this book.

The hidden curriculum (HC) in health professional education comprises the organizational and institutional contexts and cultural subtexts that shape how and what students learn outside the formal and intended curriculum. HC includes informal social processes such as role modeling, informal conversations and interactions among faculty and students, and more subterranean forces of organizational life such as the structure of power and privilege and the architectural layout of work environments. For better and sometimes for worse, HC functions as a powerful vehicle for learning and requires serious attention from health professions educators. This volume, of interest to medical and health professionals, educators, and students, brings together twenty-two new essays by experts in various aspects of HC. An introduction and conclusion by the editors contextualizes the essays in the broader history and literature of the field.

This is the only book to offer an evidence-based model for retaining students and ensuring success across the nursing education spectrum. It is designed to assist faculty in creating, implementing, and evaluating student retention and academic success strategies. This model, Nursing Undergraduate Retention and Success (NURS), can be used effectively with all kinds of nursing programs, both traditional and nontraditional, including diploma, ADN, RN-BS, and accelerated BS.The book features the Nursing Student Retention Toolkit, an easy-to-use digital toolkit for assessment and planning that is thoroughly cross-referenced and integrated into the text. Together, these complementary resources offer a wide selection of educational activities and support strategies for diverse learners and settings.

Based on proven research, this book is a unique book for those working in academic settings, health care institutions, employee education, and nursing and health care organizations and associations. Updated with new evidence-based strategies, interactive book features, and expanded ready-toapply strategies and exemplars, this new edition offers a systematic, comprehensive approach for planning, implementing, and evaluating cultural competence education strategies and programs. New and expanded chapters address curriculum, train-the-trainer programs, and continuing education; traditional classroom, hybrid, and online courses;clinical settings, immersion experiences, service learning, simulation, and nursing skills labs; professional networking; and multicultural workplace harmony and cultural safety.

Awarded second place in the 2013 AJN Book of the Year Awards in the Nursing Education/Continuing Education categoryThis AJN award-winning text is the only book to teach evidence-based practice (EBP) content grounded in a tested philosophy of teaching and learning. It provides the tools, perspective and context for health educators and practitioners to implement evidence-based care practices and evaluate their efficacy.Reflecting four years of successful experiences in helping academic agencies understand and implement EBP, this new edition has been reorganized to include updated information and five new chapters. It stresses the importance of mentorship in creating EBP and illustrates how mentorship can be designed and implemented to promote EBP.

The text provides a variety of creative strategies for integrating TCN into academia and practice as a separate course or across existing courses (foundation and life span courses, mental health, pharmacology, nutrition, research, community health, critical care, and transcultural concepts in simulation). Pedagogical tools include cultural assessment instruments, self-learning modules, role plays, unfolding case scenarios, continuing education, lesson plans, course syllabi, critical thinking exercises, and evidence-based practice information. The book will be of value to nursing students, faculty, educators in staff development settings, and all other professional nurses who wish to provide culturally competent care for their patients. It is a companion volume to the authorís text Transcultural Health Care Models: Application in Nursing Education, Practice, and Administration.Key Features:Comprises the first text to fulfill NLN/AACN mandates on cultural competencies in education and practice Presents a wealth of pedagogical strategies and teaching aids for academic and in-service settings Includes self-learning modules, case studies, role-playing scenarios, critical thinking exercises, continuing education lesson plans, and course syllabi Incorporates evidence-based, best-practice protocols Covers international partnerships and collaborations

If you need to make the leap from single sentences to a published manuscript, you will find valuable help and resources in this fully updated fourth edition of Anatomy of Writing for Publication for Nurses. In this practical and useful guide, lead author and editor Cynthia Saver removes the fear and confusion surrounding the writing and publishing process. Along the way, 28 of nursing's top writing experts and decision-makers share important insights to help you craft a quality manu-script and get it accepted for publication.

Each month is prefaced by an educational theme. The quotations are by, for, and about nurse educators. 365 daily motivational quotations, stories, poems, and inspirational thoughts for nurse educators to help them feel more appreciated in their difficult roles. No-date format makes this a perennial book (perpetual daybook) so readers can start their journey any day of the year.

This book describes the principles and methods of ethnography used by researchers (particularly nursing researchers) who examine issues related to health and illness. The authors describe both the processes related to gaining access to the'field'as well as how to: - Conduct ethnographic research in health settings - Analyze and interpret the data you collect from your field work - Make ethical decisions related to the role of being an ethnographer in a health setting, and - Put your ideas into writing so that you can create an ethnographic research proposal Written at a level appropriate for those who have taken an undergraduate research methods course, this book will enable you to learn from people about their health and/or illness.

Research shows that the sharing of personal, first-hand stories not only enhances learning and eases the transition to a new role, but also helps novice educators to understand that their challenges are shared by others. With the goal of improving the experience of nurses transitioning from clinician to educator, in hospitals as well as schools of nursing, this unique book presents the stories of nurses who made this transition. It presents the findings of several qualitative studies addressing the question, ìWhat is the lived experience of clinicians as they assume new roles as clinical nurse educators?î These narratives describe the challenges they faced and transformations in each nurseís identity and relationships during the transition process. The text includes recommendations from the Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching and specific problem-solving strategies that have worked for others...

Grantwriting can be an intimidating concept for nurses. This book will break the process down into easily understood steps for nurses who are writing a grant proposal for the first time or who have submitted previous grants but want to do so more effectively. Featuring lists, tips, tricks, and quick references, this book makes it easy for any nurse to understand what's involved.

As a newly minted PhD or DNP, you've completed your dissertation or scholarly project. Congratulations! Wondering whether or how to publish? Confused about the publication process? Feeling overwhelmed? You are not alone. A Nurse's Step-By-Step Guide to Publishing a Dissertation or DNP Project is a concise guide to preparing and polishing your work for publication. In a straightforward, conversational tone, author Karen Roush offers encouragement as well as information on everything from honing essential writing skills to choosing a publisher to submitting your manuscript—and all the steps in between. This book will help you navigate the world of scholarly publishing with less frustration— and more confidence—on the way to disseminating your research and knowledge.

Feeling overwhelmed by the mere thought of writing your dissertation or scholarly project? Wondering how to begin and where to find the time? You are not alone. Earning your advanced degree is an extraordinary accomplishment, but completing those final stages can be a daunting task. A Nurse's Step By-Step Guide to Writing a Dissertation or Scholarly Project, Second Edition, is a straightforward how-to guide. This book is intentionally concise because, let's be honest, the last thing a busy candidate needs is another unwieldy, doorstop-sized book. Packed with practical steps and tools, this fully updated second edition—which includes a new chapter on the various formats for manuscript dissertations— will help you plan, document, organize, and write your dissertation or scholarly project. Don't go it alone; let author and fellow dissertation survivor Karen Roush help you get from square one to DONE.

With essential, updated content for novice and experienced nurse educatorsThis evidence-based text delivers the full scope of knowledge necessary for novice and experienced faculty to become competent teachers in nursing. The only book to focus on the full academic role, it encompasses all of the key concepts required for effective teaching, curriculum development, evaluation and testing, becoming a scholar in nursing education, and much more. The second edition is updated throughout and includes four new chapters on Understanding the Learner, Interprofessional Education, Curriculum Models, and Global Nursing Education.

With an in-depth focus on writing with substance, clarity, and conviction, this comprehensive resource takes the reader step by step through the entire process of writing and submitting a successful proposal. Written by preeminent authors and educators with extensive experience in teaching proposal and grant writing to nurses and other health care professionals, the book discusses how to create proposals for dissertations, capstone projects, research funding, fellowships, and career development awards, as well as for educational training, translational research, evidence-based practice, and demonstration projects.

This book provides a dynamic and comprehensive interprofessional approach to building a culture of safety by using simulation across clinical and education spheres in healthcare... This is a comprehensive guide and resource for healthcare organizations, educators, and diverse interprofessional healthcare team members to use to improve patient safety efforts to adapt to the ever-changing, complex world of healthcare.

This book could easily become the'go to'text for standardized patient utilization and the backbone for implementation strategies in learning programs...It is a must-have for all disciplines interested in adding the human simulation experience to their programs.'--Nursing Education Perspectives'Today there is an explosion in the use of simulation in nursing and health professions education. The contributors to this text are experts in this format of teaching. They are the designers of the learning spaces, the authors of simulation cases and evaluation methods, the experts who program the human patient simulators and who teach the patient actors to enact the clinical scenariosÖI consider this a'handbook'on the design, evaluation and practice of simulation for clinical education. If you are a faculty member with concerns about how your students will make the transition from student to professional, use simulation in your curriculum and learn for yourself that pretending is simulation for life but simulation is pretending for the delivery of exquisite clinical care.

Simulation can be a valuable tool in academic or clinical settings, but technology changes quickly, and faculty, students, and clinicians need to know how to respond. Understanding simulation scenarios and environments is essential when designing and implementing effective programs for interdisciplinary learners. In this fully revised second edition of Mastering Simulation, nationally known experts Janice Palaganas, Beth Ulrich, and Beth Mancini guide students and practitioners in developing clinical competencies and provide a solid foundation for improving patient outcomes. Coverage includes: •Creating simulation scenarios and improving learner performance •Designing program evaluations and managing risk and quality improvement •Developing interprofessional programs and designing research using simulation

Developed by the leading experts in neonatal simulation, this innovative new resource delivers neonatology health care providers and educators essential guidance on designing, developing, and implementing simulation-based neonatal education programs. The early chapters cover learning theory, fundamentals of scenario design, and simulation and the Neonatal Resuscitation Program•.

Second Edition was a winner of the AJN Award!'Unique to this book, and what sets it apart from other books on simulations and clinical scenarios, are the personal experiences…that the authors bring to the chapters. The authors'passion, enthusiasm, and inspiration are truly reflected and demonstrated in each chapter. Authors talk about lessons learned, teaching strategies, and in-depth research… Key highlights in the book include the practice application of how to develop, implement, and evaluate clinical simulations in your nursing program. The authors make understanding simulation pedagogy an easy journey and one that is exciting that educators will want to try and embrace even when there is hesitation and uncertainty.'-Pamela R. Jeffries, PhD, RN, FAAN, ANEF; Professor, Dean; George Washington University School of Nursing; From the ForewordWhen employed as a substitute for real clinical time, simulation scenarios have proven effective in bridging the gap between theory and practice. Written by educators for educators, this book provides all the knowledge, skills, and tools needed to make simulation feasible, enjoyable, and meaningful for students.

Despite astronomical growth in the number of online nursing programs currently available, little support is provided for faculty on how to teach in that environment. While most assume that the knowledge and skills required for classroom teaching are readily translatable to teaching online, significant differences exist. Affordances provided by the online environment promote reflection and engaging with the content in a deep and meaningful way that factors in adult students'strengths as self-directed, motivated, and goal-driven learners. This resource provides step-by-step instructions for RN-BSN, masters, DNP, and PhD faculty on how to teach online effectively, engage their students, and foster success for both student and teacher.

This third edition of the best-selling nurse educator's handbook on using online teaching tools and assessing their results keeps pace with the rapid-fire progression in digital learning that has occurred since the second edition was published in 2008. Completely revised and updated, this edition presents several new interactive digital tools and current guidelines in translating courses from the classroom to the online environment. It provides new content on Web-based learning theories and how to optimally teach students using the latest technology. Additionally, this edition offers new information on staff development and a new chapter on the role of staff development educator, guides instructors on how to build an on-line community, and includes practical, proven measures for student assessment and evaluation in online education. Using a step-by-step approach, the book discusses the basics of online learning, its infrastructure, and its technical support needs. Current evidenced-based research examines teacher-student interactions, course management, web-based resources, and best-practices.

New content promotes mobile computing in distance education, faculty preparation, quality improvement, learning in context, clinical reasoning, ethical comportment, and writing skills, and addresses the challenges of accreditation for distance programs. The text helps teachers assess their teaching strategies and try new methods in selected courses to enhance outcomes. Practical hints and key points focus on supporting learner success, using learning objects, and more.. Special features include an author-hosted blog and website to enhance and extend learning. The text is designed for RN-BSN, MSN, PhD, and DNP levels and will also be beneficial for health care organizations that provide online continuing education.This New Edition:Integrates new, contextually based teaching modalities with current distance education practicesIncludes seven new chapters with learning objectives, benchmarking, and mobile computing (with Web 2.0 tools) possibilitiesProvides specific suggestions for overcoming barriers to online classes and other paradigm shiftsFeatures teaching approaches, course and program design, and case examplesOffers an author-managed blog and website, updated continually

Teaching Health Professionals Online is a must-read for professionals in the health care field who strive to deliver excellence in their online classes. Intended for a wide range of professionals, including nurses, social workers, occupational and radiation therapists, chiropractors, dietitians, and dental hygienists, this compendium of teaching strategies will inspire both new and experienced instructors in the health professions. In addition to outlining creative, challenging activities with step-by-step directions and explanations of why they work, each chapter in the text situates practice within the context of contemporary educational theories such as instructional immediacy, invitational theory, constructivism, connectivism, transformative learning, and quantum learning theory.

This innovative text, built on the foundations of Watson's Caring Science, demonstrates how nursing professionals can develop virtual relationships that encompass caring and understanding in professional, teaching/learning, and everyday cyber communications. It describes how caring and love can transcend distance, space, and time in our increasingly virtual world to preserve the basic fabric of humanity as we physically interact less and electronically interact more. Straightforward and concise, the text offers specific practices for teachers, students, and professionals to support caring in a digital world, along with practical examples that enable readers to envision ways to create their own caring online presence.The text provides examples of initiatives aimed at establishing ongoing intent to care on levels ranging from personal to global. Included are a variety of educational activities that rely on digital resources to facilitate interaction, collaboration, learning, and connection. Learning objectives and knowledge-check questions in each chapter reinforce information, and a corresponding MOOC and other free professional online trainings are available to readers to augment study.Key Features:Built on Watson's Caring Science and expanded through Sitzman's researchContains specific information and practical examples for faculty, students, and professionals who interact onlineProvides examples of online caring initiatives from personal to globalValidated by seven research studies and extensive online experience of the authors