Student Success Resource Guide

The book describes how to use breathing as a medium for self-regulation and self-reflection and how balanced breathing thus helps to promote mental and physical health and alleviate symptoms resulting from imbalanced breathing. The authors describe applications of psychophysical breathing therapy in many areas of life, developed by both themselves and other professionals trained by them. The approach of the book is based on the interactional aspects between mind and body. A person's breathing style influences their relation both to themselves and to others - and vice versa, and thus mental and also physical health. A comprehensive theoretical description of the psychophysical regulation of breathing and the consequences of imbalanced breathing is complemented by material derived from the authors'extensive clinical experience.

Presents step-by-step instructions for performing a number of yoga exercise and stress-relief positions. Discusses how yoga can be effective for teenage girls in relieving stress and getting in shape.

Despite ample evidence suggesting emotional intelligence can be a pivotal factor in understanding of effective coping with stress, well-being, psychological resilience and health, only a handful of empirical studies examined if and how emotional intelligence is associated with health outcomes. This book takes a good look at the emotion-health association across time, culture and scientific approaches, while reviewing what is known about the potential of EI to account for a broad range of health outcomes. Based on what academics know, or more importantly perhaps what they still do not know, a theoretical model of emotional intelligence and health is presented, and possibilities are presented, including directions for interpretation of current evidence for asking new questions to broaden our understanding and ability to use the concept to explain varying health conditions.

Written for those with diagnosed mood disorders as well as those who simply need a new strategy for managing the low mood and stress that is an everyday part of life, this book provides readers with step-by-step guidance on how to start and maintain an exercise program geared towards improving mood, with a particular emphasis on understanding the relationship between mood and motivation. Readers learn to attend carefully to mood states prior to and following physical activity in order to leverage the full benefits of exercise, and that the trick to maintaining an exercise program is not in applying more effort, but in arranging one's environment so that less effort is needed.

Many people know Yoga as a form of stress-relieving fitness regime. This book delves into the rich philosophy and history of this ancient physical and mental discipline, in the form of four lectures given at the 32nd Anniversary of the Theosophical Society.

This volume examines the impact of lifestyle interventions -- from exercise, yoga, and tai chi to mindfulness and meditation, diet and nutrition, and sleep management -- on psychiatric disorders, including depression, anxiety, posttraumatic stress disorder, schizophrenia, and addiction. Readers can readily find data to support the use of specific lifestyle interventions for a patient presenting with a specific disorder.Detailed descriptions of the mechanisms of each lifestyle intervention also prepare practitioners to educate their patients on the specific neurobiological and psychological effects of these interventions to support their recovery. With chapters that focus on developing a robust therapeutic alliance and inspiring patients to assume responsibility for their own well-being, this guide provides a framework for lasting, sustainable lifestyle changes

This accessible book comprises a collection of 80 tried-and-tested exercises, with guidelines for applying them and advice for devising new ones. Liesl Silverstone offers a variety of exercises for a diverse and multicultural client base, such as guided fantasies, one-to-one and group work focusing on the group dynamic, and some examples of working with adults with learning difficulties and children.

This ground-breaking book explores the theoretical, clinical and training application of integrating mindfulness with all of the arts therapies, and includes cutting-edge contributions from neuroscience. Written by pioneers and leaders in the arts therapies and psychology fields, the book includes 6 sections that examine mindfulness and the arts therapies from different perspectives: 1) the history and roots of mindfulness in relation to spirituality, psychotherapy and the arts therapies; 2) the role of the expressive arts in cultivating mindful awareness; 3) innovative approaches that add mindfulness to the arts therapies; 4) arts therapies approaches that are inherently mindfulness-based; 5) mindfulness in the training and education of arts therapists; and 6) the neuroscience underlying mindfulness and the arts therapies.

This unique two-volume set describes the variety of cultural approaches to health practiced by people of varying cultural heritages and places them in stark context with traditional Western approaches to health care and medicine. Examining health practices such as Ayurveda, an ancient system of medicine that focuses on the body, the sense organs, the mind, and the soul; and traditional Chinese medicine (TCM), the author examines why these different approaches can explain some of the cultural variations in health behaviors, differences in why people get sick, and how they cope with illness.

Poetry and short stories can act as powerful springboards to growth, self-enhancement and healing. With the guidance of a skilled facilitator, participants can engage with their own creative expression, and with that of others, and in doing so find opportunities to voice their truth, affirm their strengths, and find new ways of coping with challenges. This book explores the therapeutic possibilities of poetry and stories in turn, describing how to select appropriate works for discussion, and providing techniques for facilitating personally-relevent and growth-enhancing sessions. The author provides ideas and suggestions for personal writing activities that emerge from or intertwine with this discussion, and explains how participants can create their own poetic and narrative pieces using non-literary stimuli, such as music, photographs, paintings, objects, and physical movement.

IntheFlow – Taking Mindfulness to Work is an uplifting, eloquent and enlightening book that provokes us to wake up and notice the small stuff so that we live more fulfilling lives. The book is packed with enthusiasm about how we can change our lives for the better by providing us with tools, tips and practices that can impact our personal and professional lives. It offers anecdotes, principles, processes and philosophies that are accessible, simple and very powerful. IntheFlow has the capacity to enhance the way we perceive – and experience – our lives, the way we work as teams, and as a result, our overall productivity and levels of performance. It explains six ‘prompts'that awaken us to the ordinary – yet special – moments of our lives, by paying attention, on purpose, to these moments.

Developed by Jon Kabat-Zinn and first introduced in a hospital setting, mindfulness-based stress reduction (MBSR) is an evidence-based modality that has been shown to help alleviate a wide range of physical and mental health issues—such as anxiety, depression, trauma, chronic pain, stress, and more. This comprehensive learning manual for professionals provides everything you need to practice and teach MBSR.Mindfulness-Based Stress Reduction is a timely book that focuses on structure and flexibility when delivering this seminal program. Whether you work in health care, the mental health field, social work, or education, this manual offers clear direction and a sound framework for practicing MBSR in any setting. You'll gain an understanding of the underlying principles of mindfulness, learn to establish your own personal practice, and discover how you can embody that practice.

Based on a program in corporate mindfulness designed by Hougaard and the partners of The Potential Project, One Second Ahead provides practical tools and techniques as well as real-world examples and lessons from organizations that have implemented mindfulness on a large scale. Thoroughly tested in a diverse range of industries, this program has resulted in measurable increases in productivity, effectiveness, and job satisfaction. With the new mindset proposed in One Second Ahead, readers will be able to put an end to ineffective multitasking, unproductive meetings, poor communication, and other unhealthy workplace behaviors by applying mindfulness to every day work life.

Anxiety, meltdowns and emotional regulation can be hugely challenging for autistic people. This book is full of proactive strategies for understanding, accepting and respecting the processing differences in autism. It contains tools for reducing sensory, social and mental drain, and offers strategies to protect from ongoing stress and anxiety. These help minimize shutdowns and burnout, while maximizing self-esteem, autistic identity and mental health.Learn strategies for matching environmental demands to the person's processing needs, how to support vulnerabilities, and how to prevent and manage meltdowns while protecting the identify and self-esteem of the individual with autism.

Thinking about going to college? What subjects to take? How to organise your time properly? How to meet new people and maintain friendships?This interactive workbook provides guidance for your entire journey through college and further education. Full of handy tips and strategies to help you through college, it guides you through early hurdles such as preparing for a new sensory environment, planning your transport and making friends. Chapters also cover life in college, so you'll know how to properly manage your time studying and socialising, how to get a grip on social media and have the confidence to tackle exams head on!

Through multiple case vignettes, the book delves into the challenges of health and wellness for people with mental illness -- including those listed above -- summarizing the research on mortality and morbidity in this group as well as information about the status quo on wellness. It also provides a thorough description of community-based participatory research (CBPR), an approach that includes people in a community as partners in all facets of research, rather than just the subjects of that research. CBPR acts as the lens through which this guide considers solutions to these health problems, including integrated services and patient-centered medical homes; medical practices that diminish the iatrogenic effects of psychiatry; psychoeducation; interpersonal supports; and shared decision-making.

When you just can't focus, life can get lost in the balance. And to make matters worse, you might also feel stressed or have trouble sleeping and eating well. So, how can you gain focus and start feeling better right away? In Mindfulness for Teens with ADHD, a clinical social worker offers fast, easy mindfulness skills to help you successfully navigate all the areas of life, including making good choices, completing tasks, increasing academic success, excelling at sports, driving safely, getting enough sleep, managing stress, and more. By paying attention to the moment, you'll find yourself less distracted and better able to focus on what's going on right now—whether it's an algebra test, a job interview, or an important conversation with a friend.

This essential guidebook begins by describing how the ADHD brain processes information and how that leads to typical challenges that people with ADHD experience, as well as why certain strategies are effective and others aren't. This lays the foundation for everything that follows, from getting diagnosed to an overview of the research of how ADHD affects people's lives. A thorough explanation of standard treatment options-including medication, therapy, and coaching-as well as alternative treatments, helps guide adults with ADHD to get the most from their healthcare providers. From there, the book provides an extensive collection of practical strategies to overcome common struggles in the areas of self-esteem, work, relationships, friendships, parenting, and everyday life. It covers everything from time management to getting organized.

Clear and engaging, this book offers a refreshing positive psychology approach to mental health and autism. Moving away from neurotypical views of happiness, it sets out simple techniques to help adults on the spectrum improve their mental health. Packed with helpful exercises for individuals and groups, it covers topics such as recognising character strengths, dealing with negative self-talk, building communication skills and self-awareness, and forming coping strategies for the workplace. Autistic individuals and professionals who work with them will find flexible and practical solutions to recurring negative thoughts, helping clear the path to a successful and happy future.

Transforming ADHD offers a breakthrough, scientifically-grounded approach to attention and action regulation skills and strategies. Looking at ADHD through the latest research and the broad perspective of interpersonal neurobiology (IPNB)--a model that views one's mind, brain, body, and relationships as intimately connected--you'll discover how to work with your brain instead of against it, and transform the way you live your life. Using the practical exercises, tools, and techniques presented, you'll learn how to effectively direct your attention and motivate yourself to action so you can move toward the life you want.

Workplace well-being expert Jennifer Moss helps leaders and individuals prevent burnout and create healthier, happier, and more productive workplaces.
In this important and timely book, workplace well-being expert Jennifer Moss helps leaders and individuals prevent burnout and create healthier, happier, and more productive workplaces. We tend to think of burnout as a problem we can solve with self-care: more yoga, better breathing techniques, and more resilience. But evidence is mounting that applying personal, Band-Aid solutions to an epic and rapidly evolving workplace phenomenon isn't enough--in fact, it's not even close. If we're going to solve this problem, organizations must take the lead in developing an antiburnout strategy that moves beyond apps, wellness programs, and perks. In this eye-opening, paradigm-shifting, and practical guide, Jennifer Moss lays bare the real causes of burnout and how organizations can stop the chronic stress cycle that an alarming number of workers suffer through. "The Burnout Epidemic" explains: What causes burnout--and what organizations can do to prevent it; Why traditional wellness initiatives fall short; How companies can build an antiburnout strategy based on prevention, not perks; How leaders can measure burnout in their own organizations; What leaders can do to develop a healthier culture that prioritizes resilience and curiosity. As the pandemic has shown, self-care is important, but it's not a cure-all for burnout. Employers need to do more. With fascinating research, new findings from the pandemic, and interviews with business leaders around the globe, "The Burnout Epidemic" offers readers insightful and actionable advice that will empower them to help themselves--and their employees--feel healthier and happier at work. -- Provided by publisher.

A balanced lifestyle enhances health, happiness and wellbeing. With practical techniques and strategies, this book explores how this balance can be found and how stress and anxiety, which are linked to being overworked and over busy, may be alleviated. It begins by examining the state of work-life imbalance in our everyday lives and discussing real life examples from a group of professionals working in health and social care. Their stories and experiences illustrate the problems caused by our modern, work-driven society and resonate with how many of us are living today. The author then provides practical tools and techniques to address this overwork culture and achieve a more balanced lifestyle.

No More Stress! takes the skills and techniques of Cognitive-Behavioural Therapy and Cognitive-Behavioural Coaching to offer you the opportunity of taking control of your stress. It will help you understand what is happening to you and teaches you how to overcome stress through exercises and strategies. If you use and practise the skills in this book, you will learn how to become your own stress management coach. For some people, using the skills in this book may be enough to become stress free. For others, the book will help to reduce the stress they experience. It is an invaluable tool for all.

Resilience is the ability to recover from difficult experiences, such as death of loved one, job loss, serious illness, terrorist attacks, or even just daily stressors and challenges. Resilience is the strength of body, mind, and character that enables people to respond well to adversity. In short, resilience is the cornerstone of mental health. Combining evidence-based approaches including positive psychology, cognitive behavioral therapy (CBT), mindfulness, and skills for regulating stress, The Resilience Workbook will show you how to bounce back and thrive in any difficult situation. You'll learn how to harness the power of your brain's natural neuroplasticity; manage strong, distressing emotions; and improve mood and overall well-being. You'll also discover powerful skills to help you prevent and recover from stress-related conditions like post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD), anxiety, depression, anger, and substance abuse disorders.

Stress is an inevitable part of everyday life. Sometimes we manage it well. Other times, not so much. But understanding the role of stress in our overall health and wellness is essential to taking it head-on. It's not just that stress can take over our thoughts; it can take over our bodies. From the flight or fight response to inflammation, from feeling anxious to feeling sick, it can deteriorate our bodies and our minds from the inside out. While many books promise tips on managing stress, this book takes it one step further to consider the science behind stress and how it affects our minds and bodies, offering evidence-based approaches to managing stress for optimum results.

This is a book about recovery. Not recovery from drugs, alcohol, or surgery, but recovery from the numerous and relentless demands we face in handling our everyday obligations. These demands take a toll on us. Regardless of whether they come from paid employment, caring for young children, looking after elderly parents, or trying to get through graduate school, our daily obligations weigh heavily on us. Recent scientific developments from around the globe have shed light on the processes that reverse the draining effects of our obligations and help us successfully recover in our leisure time. Not only that, research also reveals that when effective recovery occurs it not only recharges our batteries, but makes us feel happier, makes us healthier, and makes us better at handling the demands that drained us in the first place. We call this boosting to reflect the multi-pronged benefits of successful recovery. In this book we draw on the most cutting-edge science to explain how to transform our ineffective downtime into valuable uptime.

The book includes: Information on how to assess your college fit academically and socio-emotionally. Self-assessment activities that students can use to ID their specific stressors and ways to alleviate those issues.
Sections on physical, mental, and social wellness, each with data-backed insights and research to help define the issues and strategies for handling. Proactive activities for student use, with reflection prompts to help develop roadmaps toward a healthier status quo.

This links directly to chapter 8, "Coping with College Stress," from Community College Companion. Beyond just stress management, the book covers an array of topics relevant to students being successful in 2 year college programs.

Self-Care for New and Student Nurses presents techniques to prepare you for stressors present now and those to come. No matter where you are in your nursing career, this book offers you multiple ways to prioritize your own mental, physical, and emotional health.