CDEV 1530 - Chronic Conditions and Illnesses in Childhood

The following databases have been identified as potential resources for information on childhood chronic conditions or illnesses:

Nursing Reference Center has a tab dedicated to information on diseases and conditions.  To find this information:

1. Access the Nursing Reference Center database.
2. Click the Diseases & Conditions tab.
3. Type the name of your selected condition or illness in the search box.
4. Review and select results.  Look for results that specifically mention children.

EXAMPLE SEARCH:
See how the Search Tips above are incorporated into this search.

CINAHL Plus with Full Text and Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition are databases from the company EBSCO.  This means that they look the same, but the have different content (different articles) in each database. If you can't find articles on your condition/illness in one database, make sure to try the other!

To FIND ARTICLES on your selected condition or illness, follow these steps:

1. Access either the CINAHL Plus with Full Text or Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition database.
2. Type your selected condition or illness in the search box along with AND children.  
   • Example search: eczema AND children
3. Review and select results. 

Pro Tips:

• Check the "Full Text" checkbox to make sure all results you see have the full article.
• Set a date range (last 3 years) to make sure you are getting the most up-to-date information

EXAMPLE SEARCH:
See how the Search Tips above are incorporated into this search.