This is the "Articles & Databases" page of the "Floral Design Research Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Floral Design Research Guide  

Use this guide to learn how to research using the tools and resources of the Hennepin Technical College library.
Last Updated: Jun 29, 2016 URL: http://hennepintech.libguides.com/floraldesign Print Guide RSS Updates

Articles & Databases Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Article Search Tips

Use any of the following commands to improve your search results:


AND: all results must include both words. (Ex: government AND privacy)

  • Use AND between unique keywords (Basic Search)
  • Use AND between separate search boxes (Advanced Search).

Screenshot of database search: AND between seach boxes

OR: results may contain either word.  Type OR between synonyms. (Ex: job OR career)

  • Use OR when entering synonyms in the same search box.
  • DO NOT change drop-down between boxes to OR.

Screenshot of database search: OR between synonyms

Quotation Marks (" "): all enclosed words will be searched as an exact phrase. (Ex: "immigration reform")

Screenshot of database search: phrase in quotations marks

Asterisk (*): Add to the end of a partial word. Looks for all endings of the word. (Ex: employ* = employee, employed employment, employer)

Screenshot of database search: Asterisk to find alternate forms of word.


Limit Your Search Results

  • Checkmark the Full Text checkbox to only find full articles (not just summaries).

Screenshot of Full Text checkbox in database.

  • Use the Publication Date limit to only find articles within a specific time frame (Ex: the last 5 years).

Screenshot of publication date limit in database search.


For more search tips or for help with your research, Ask the Library.

Core Floral Design Databases at HTC

CheckmarkSearching individual article databases tailored to your specific program area will retrieve fewer and more focused results on your research topic (as opposed to finding articles through OneSearch).

The following databases contain articles, reports, and other information specific to floral design.

  • Vocations, Careers, & Technical Education Collection
    Vocations and Careers Collection provides access to journals and magazines that aid users in researching a vocation, finding an appropriate institution of learning, job searching, and maintaining a career. The database offers current and applicable content from general career guides to highly specialized industry journals.
  • MasterFile Premier
    MasterFILE™ Premier contains full text for nearly 1,700 periodicals covering general reference, business, health, education, general science, multicultural issues and much more. This database also contains full text more than 500 reference books, over 107,000 primary source documents, and an Image Collection of over 510,000 photos, maps & flags.
  • Science Reference Center
    Designed to meet every student's science research needs, Science Reference Center contains full text for hundreds of science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals, and other sources. Topics covered include: biology, chemistry, earth & space science, environmental science, health & medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science & society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology and wildlife.
  • Films on Demand
    Films Media Group is the leading source of high-quality video and multimedia for academic, technical, vocational, and life-skills content.

Additional Floral Design Databases

The following databases contain some floral design literature, but are not as focused on floral design literature as the core databases listed above.

  • Academic Search Premier
    Academic Search Premier is a multidisciplinary database, meaning it contains full-text coverage in a large range of subject areas. In most cases, you're likely to find an article related to your search within this database.
  • Expanded Academic ASAP
    This premier database offers balanced coverage of every academic concentration — from advertising and microbiology to history and women's studies. Combining indexing, abstracts, full text and images, Expanded Academic ASAP delivers answers for both the novice and the experienced researcher.
  • General Science Collection
    The General Science Collection contains over 200 full-text science journals. With these, researchers can stay current with the latest scientific developments in many areas of scientific inquiry, including particle physics, advanced mathematics, nanotechnology, geology and hundreds of other areas.
  • Business Source Premier
    Business Source® Premier, the industry's most popular business research database, features full text articles from more than 2,200 journals. This database includes some of the industry's best coverage of business research topics including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics; in addition to market research reports, industry reports, country reports, company profiles and SWOT analyses.
  • EBSCO MegaFile
    EBSCO MegaFILE is comprised of EBSCO’s Academic Search Premier, Business Source Premier and Regional Business News databases, providing full text for over 19,100 total publications and indexing & abstracting for nearly 24,000 publications. Coverage spans every area of academic study and general interest subject area and offers information dating as far back as the 1800s. In addition, the database contains more than 85,800 biographies, 118,000 primary source documents, 10,150 company profiles and an image collection of over 502,000 photos, maps and flags.
  • New York Times Online
    Get full online access to the New York Times. If you are a new user, use this link to create a free account. Your account is good for one year and will need to be renewed each year. Once registered, you may access NYTimes.com from any web enabled device using your registered email and password.
 

Ask a Librarian

Got a Question? Need Research Help?

 Man and stack of papers clipart.

Call or email the library!

Jennie Simning (Librarian): 952-995-1533 or Send Email

Brooklyn Park Campus Library: 763-488-2929

Eden Prairie Campus Library: 952-995-1650

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip