Skip to Main Content

Nursing Research Guide

Use this guide to learn how to research using the tools and resources of the Hennepin Technical College library.

Nursing Reference Resources

Nursing Reference Center Plus This link opens in a new window
Nursing and Allied Health reference tool designed to provide relevant clinical resources to nurses and other health care professionals, directly at the point-of-care. Includes disease fact sheets, skills checklists & video demonstrations, evidence based care sheets, patient education print-outs, drug information, and a collection of Nursing Reference eBooks. Also includes CINAHL Continuing Education Modules, which are specifically designed to keep working nurses up to date on a wide variety of diseases, treatments, and other healthcare topics.

Note: To access the CINAHL Continuing Education Modules, follow the instructions at this link: https://connect.ebsco.com/s/article/Continuing-Education-in-Nursing-Reference-Center-Plus?language=en_US
Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
Includes: The Gale Encyclopedia of Nursing (2023), along with encyclopedias on alternative medicine, children's health, emerging diseases, genetic disorders, medicine, mental health, neurological disorders, nutrition & food labels, pregnancy & childbirth, surgery & medical tests, and more.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
General Purpose reference collection of encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, atlases, and guides from a wide variety of academic fields, including Agriculture, Architecture, Allied Health, Automation, Biology, Business, Child Development, Communication, Culinary Science, Dentistry, Education, Engineering, History, Language Arts, Literature, Nursing, Social Science, and many more.

Drug Handbooks

Ahfs Drug Information by Ashp
Call Number: (Online Resource)
ISBN: 9781585286119
Publication Date: (updated yearly)
Drug information handbook published by the American Society of Health-Systems Pharmacists.
Davis's Drug Guide for Nurses by April Hazard Vallerand; Cynthia A. Sanoski
Call Number: (Online Resource)
ISBN: 9781719640053
Publication Date: (updated yearly)
Davis' Drug Guide for nurses available through Nursing Reference Center Plus.

Nursing Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, & Handbooks

Encyclopedia of Nursing (6 Volume Set) by Peyton P. O'Donnell (Editor)
Call Number: (Online Resource)
ISBN: 9781536177978
Publication Date: 2020-07-22
This six-volume set presents important research on nursing. Some of the topics discussed herein include: advanced practice nursing; the nursing workforce; nurse practitioners; physician assistants; certification and licensure; psychiatric-mental health nursing; rehabilitation ; nursing education and nursing students; bioengineering nursing; immunization for healthcare workers.
The Gale Encyclopedia of Nursing & Allied Healthh by Jacqueline L. Longe, ed.
Call Number: (Online Resource)
ISBN: 9781410363206
Publication Date: 2023
This set provides more than 1,200 alphabetically arranged entries, covering topics in body systems and functions, conditions and common diseases, contemporary health care issues and theories, techniques and practices, and devices and equipment. It covers all major health professions, including nursing, physical therapy, occupational therapy, respiratory therapy and more.
The Gale Encyclopedia of Nutrition and Food Labels by Gale Research Inc (Other Primary Creator)
Call Number: (Online Resource)
ISBN: 9781410338921
Publication Date: 2016-11-10
The Gale Encyclopedia of Nutrition and Food Labels explains the often confusing (and sometimes contradictory) language and measurements on food labels and in food marketing, and provides information in a more reader-friendly way than an FDA report can. This product will help consumers understand what labels and ingredients mean to their overall nutritional and food-safety needs. It will also address new FDA labelling guidelines that are under discussion and slated for implementation in the near future. Tables and charts of acceptable levels of many food additives, chemicals, and nutritional levels in foods will add value to this product.
Handbook for Culturally Competent Care by Larry D. Purnell; Florida International University; Eric A. Fenkl
Call Number: (Online Resource)
ISBN: 9783030219451
Publication Date: 2019-07-12
This book discusses culture and prepares clinical health professionals to assess individuals from culturally specific population groups. It explores cultures and the issues healthcare professionals need to consider, covering heritage, communication styles, family roles and organization, workforce issues, biocultural ecology, high-risk health behaviors, nutrition, pregnancy and child bearing, death rituals, spirituality, healthcare practices, and views of healthcare providers.