Skip to Main Content

Dental Assisting Research Guide

Use this guide to learn how to research using the tools and resources of the Hennepin Technical College library.

Core Dental Assisting Databases at HTC

CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
Nursing and Allied Health collection of peer-reviewed journals and evidence based practice research. Also includes Evidence Based Care Sheets and Quick Lessons on a variety of conditions and pathologies.
Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window
General purpose academic database that includes peer-reviewed journal articles in many different subject areas, including vocational and technical topics. A great place to start your research, regardless of your topic.
Health and Medicine (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Allied Health collection of peer-reviewed journals, magazines, and reference works. Includes a collection videos of live surgeries and other health-related procedures.
Alt HealthWatch This link opens in a new window
Health Sciences database that includes peer-reviewed journals and magazines on Holistic Medicine, Alternative Medicine, and integrated approaches to Health Care and Wellness.

OneSearch Article Search
Search across most (but not all) of HTC's databases in a single search.
A-Z Databases List: Health Science Databases
Not finding what you need? See a list of all of the Health-Science Databases available at the HTC Library.

Select Dental Assisting Journals

The Dental Assistant by American Dental Assistants Association
Call Number: (Online Resource)
Publication Date: 1994 - Present
A professional journal focusing on dental assistant education in all phases of dentistry. This is the official journal of the American Dental Assistants Association (ADAA) and reports of national organization news and upcoming conferences and events are published here.
Contemporary Dental Assisting by Dental Learning Systems, Co.
Call Number: (Online Resource)
Publication Date: 2004 - Present
Focuses on state-of-the-art Dental Assisting procedures, practical clinical applications, applied technology, health and safety, and laboratory communication.
Journal of Dental Hygiene by American Dental Hygienists Association
Call Number: (Online Resource)
Publication Date: 1993 - Present
Scholarly and technical articles on dental hygiene practice, education and research
Modern Hygienist by Intellisphere, LLC
Call Number: (Online Resource)
Publication Date: 2005 - Present
Provides Dental hygienists with information needed in their patient care, career, and business.
International Journal of Dental Hygienists by International Federation of Dental Hygienists, issuing body.
Call Number: (Online Resource)
Publication Date: 2003 - Present
Focuses on the latest scientific news, commissioned reviews as well as clinical, professional and educational developmental and legislative news to the profession world-wide.
Journal of Dental Research and Review by Medknow Publications and Media Pvt. Ltd.
Call Number: (Online Resource)
Publication Date: 2014 - Present
Aims to publish novel and quality peer reviewed articles in all branches of dentistry.

Last Updated: Feb 13, 2024 10:23 AM
URL: https://hennepintech.libguides.com/dentalassistingresearchguide
Print Page

Subjects: Health: Nursing, Emergency Services, Dental, Program Guides