COMM 2050 - Interpersonal Theory Research

BEFORE YOU BEGIN YOUR ARTICLE SEARCH....

You should read a general overview of the theory you will be researching. 

Articles from library research databases (like you are expected to find for your assignment), are not likely to go into detail about the theory you are researching.  Instead, they will apply the theory in a specific way. 

To orient yourself to the basic principles of your assigned theory, try to:

1. Find information on the theory in your textbook.
2. Look for an overview of the theory in the Encyclopedia of Communication Theory.
3. Conduct a brief internet search to review 1 or 2 credible websites that discuss your theory.

FINDING THEORY ARTICLES IN LIBRARY DATABASES

For any theory search, remember to use the Advanced Search option to allow yourself more options to manipulate your search results.

Also remember you MUST find peer-reviewed articles.  To limit your article to search to only these types of articles, please scroll down to see the "Database Limits" box below.

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

There are two types of searches that should yield relevant articles that utilize your interpersonal theory:

1. Type the full name of the theory in quotation marks
   • Example: "Implicit Personality Theory"
2. Type the main keywords of your theory in quotation marks, then add theor* in an empty search in the Advanced Search (see image below).
   • Example: "Implicit Personality" AND theor*

SIDE NOTE: The asterisk (*) added to the root of a word will find any ending.  Theor* =  theory, theories, theorists, theoretical.

EXAMPLE SEARCHES

• If your search returns too many results on your theory, try ONE of the following options:  

• • Add the name of the theorist in an empty search box.
  • Select Abstract from the drop-down menu next to your search box.
  • Add one or two additional keywords in the other empty search boxes, such as communication.

• If your search does not return enough articles on your theory, try ONE of the following options::

• • Remove the quotation marks around the theory name/phrase.
  • Remove unnecessary words from the search box, such as the word "theory" or the theorist's name.

PRO RESEARCHER TIP!

Some theories are known by different names. For example...

Communication Privacy Management Theory was originally called Communication Boundary Management

For further articles on your theory, try searching with the alternative name for your theory.

PEER-REVIEWED LIMIT

Limit your article results to see only peer-reviewed articles by placing a checkmark in the "Peer-reviewed" checkbox on the side of your article results page.

FULL-TEXT LIMIT and INTERLIBRARY LOAN (ILL)

Each database contains a mix of articles that are either available in full-text (the full article is in the database for you) or available through Interlibrary Loan (only the summary of the article is available in the database, but you can request the article be emailed to you for free).

To limit your results to only see full-text articles, place a checkmark in the "Full-Text" checkbox on the side of your search results.

It is recommended that you DO NOT limit your search to only full-text articles because there are many more (and often better) articles available to you if you are willing to request the articles through Interlibrary Loan (for free).  The requested article is typically emailed to your Hennepin Tech email account within 1-5 business days.

INTERLIBRARY LOAN (ILL)

To request an article through Interlibrary Loan, simply click the "Interlibrary Loan Request" link from the article results or article record, login with your StarID and password and follow the prompts.

Search any of the following databases for articles utilizing interpersonal theories.